Welcome to W. S. Gager

November 25, 2011

Mystery We Write Blog Tour

Wendy, thank you for visiting my blog today and sharing your thoughts on Inspiration, Author Enjoyment, &  Reader Wishes

W.S. Gager has lived in Michigan for most of her life except when she was interviewing race car drivers or professional woman’s golfers. She enjoyed the fast-paced life of a newspaper reporter until deciding to settle down and realized babies didn’t adapt well to running down story details on deadline. Since then she honed her skills on other forms of writing before deciding to do what she always wanted with her life and that was to write mystery novels. Her main character is Mitch Malone who is an edgy crime-beat reporter always on the hunt for the next Pulitzer and won’t let anyone stop him, supposedly.

Author W.S. Gager

On my inspiration–Much of my ideas comes from my days as a reporter and many of the things I saw that I wanted to “fix” but couldn’t. The toddlers in pajamas found in drug dealers homes and how their lives would never be the same after a search warrant was executed. Tarps covering teenaged bodies in wrecked vehicles and the faces of the parents who couldn’t wrap their head around the loss of a child. Forgotten seniors packed into nursing facilities waiting patiently for day cares to bring in children to change the doldrums of their existence. I could only report what I found. I couldn’t fix any of those things as an objective reporter. Mitch is able to fix those things and say things I couldn’t. My mystery author inspiration started with Carolyn Keene and Nancy Drew told me I could solve crime. I moved on to Agatha Christie and read most of the mother of modern mystery. I love trying to write so people can’t figure out who did the crime until I’m ready to tell them.

On being an author–I love the creative part. Writing the rough draft for me is so much fun. I never know what the characters are going to do. I have the beginning of the story kicking around in my head and a very rough idea of how the story will turn out but what comes in between is pure magic. My characters take over, start talking back to me. It always amazing how it all comes together at the end.

Award Winning A Case of Hometown Blues

I want readers to smile and then buy all my other books. (smile) I also want readers to hit their forehead with the palm of their hand and say, “why didn’t I see that” as the bad guy is revealed. I want them to think about the story and realize all the clues were there but laid out so innocuously that their importance wasn’t apparent until the villain is unmasked. I want people to enjoy my books as much as I enjoyed Nancy Drew and the Agatha Christie mysteries.

To Purchase, click on Book Cover


Thank you, Wendy, for visiting today and starting our Mystery We Write Blog Tour with your thoughtful answers!

1

If you leave a comment, your name will go into the drawing for a free copy of Reticence of Ravens (three copies in total, randomly selected by Buster!)

19 Responses to “Welcome to W. S. Gager”

  1. W.S. Gager said

    I just wish it worked in real life. Thanks for stopping by Stephanie. Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  2. Tess Grant said

    I’m a pinch late, but I made it! I have to say that many of WS books make me slap my head and ask, “How did I miss that?” It’s because I get so wrapped up in the story!

    Interesting comments on your life as a reporter. I’m glad Mitch can say and do things that you couldn’t–it’s hard to be an impartial bystander.

  3. W.S. Gager said

    JQ: Thanks for stopping by. Just don’t do that head slap too hard. LOL.

    Madeline: Thank you for being such a great host. Was worried about the blog tour and was so glad to start here with you.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  4. J Q Rose said

    Yep, I’m one of those who slapped her forehead and said why didn’t I figure that out? Enjoy your mystery storytelling, Wendy. I am enjoying watching Mitch evolve..hmmm. is that the right word?? Best wishes!

  5. mmgornell said

    Thanks to everyone who’s visited Wendy, and all your names will go into “Buster’s drawing hat”!

    Thanks again, Wendy for starting us off in grand style–wonderful start to a wonderful blog tour!

    Madeline

  6. W.S. Gager said

    Desiree: This is my first day of my first blog hop and I’m enjoying them a great deal. Hope the next 13 work as well. Thanks for stopping by. Tomorrow I will be visiting Tim Hallinan http://www.timothyhallinan.com/blog/. On my blog I will be hosting John M. Daniel who will be grilled by Mitch Malone.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  7. love t h hops hope you in joy doing them

  8. W.S. Gager said

    Earl: Thanks for stopping by. I wish terrorists could be “fixed” as easy, too.

    Pat: So glad you stopped by!

    Jackie: Good to see you!

    Desiree: Glad you are enjoying the blog. It was great fun!

  9. ilove to read and then blog i am glad you guy are havingget to see some great authros these

  10. Great blog Wendy and Madeline.

  11. Pat Reid said

    Thanks so much for sharing your experiences. Glad you found a way to inform people and fix a few things through your writing.

  12. Wendy, I love it that in our writing we can fix things we can’t in real life like Mitch Malone does. In my new book, Tall Chambers tracks down terrorists and exterminates them before they can kill innocent people. If only.

  13. W.S. Gager said

    Madeline: Thanks so much for letting me be here today. My apologies for tardiness but have been trying to get the Black Friday bargains.

    Jean: Good to see you and great to know you were a fellow reporter.

    Lubna: Thank you so much for stopping by from India. I’m glad you have a free press as well. Wish all countries did.

    Anne: I think what you friend said is so true. A lot of what I saw goes into the books. A friend signs all her emails with “Writing…it is cheaper than therapy!” I need a lot of therapy!

    Marilyn: So glad you could stop by!

    Wendy

  14. Great post from a fellow former news reporter, Wendy. I can certainly empathiize.

  15. Lubna said

    @Wendy: I just blog hopped from your blog and it was interesting to ready about you here. Thanks Marilyn for hosting this interview.
    I was a journalist once, but a business journalist. I can understand where you are coming from. We reporters can but report facts, however, the information we disseminate helps bring about justice or so I like to believe. I am glad that I live in India, where the press has freedom.
    Thanks again, Wendy and Marilyn
    Lubna

  16. I write nonfiction, but appreciate good fiction. It must be nice being able to fix things, even if only in print.

  17. Wendy, I can’t imagine seeing what you did and not feeling outrage and wanting to fix it all. As an author friend once said, “What doesn’t kill us, makes us writers”.

    There is SO much truth in that.

    Great post, ladies.

  18. Hi, Madeline and Wendy, what a great post! So happy to see two of my friends on this amazing blog tour.

  19. mmgornell said

    It’s great, Wendy, starting off this neat blog tour with your thoughts on inspiration, author enjoyment, and reader wishes! Looking forward to reading many more Mitch Malone mysteries. Continued success…

    Madeline

Leave a Reply

