Welcome to Pat Browning

November 28, 2011

Mystery We Write Blog Tour

Pat, thank you for visiting my blog today and sharing your thoughts on Inspiration, Author Enjoyment, &  Reader Wishes

Pat Browning was born and raised in Oklahoma. A longtime resident of California’s San Joaquin Valley before moving back to Oklahoma in 2005, her professional writing credits go back to the 1960s, when she was a stringer for The Fresno Bee while working full time in a Hanford law office.

Pat Browning Rides a Camel!

Her globetrotting in the 1970s led her into the travel business, first as a travel agent, then as a correspondent for TravelAge West, a trade journal published in San Francisco. In the 1990s, she signed on fulltime as a newspaper reporter and columnist, first at The Selma Enterprise and then at The Hanford Sentinel.

Her first mystery, FULL CIRCLE, was set in a fictional version of Hanford, and published through iUniverse in 2001. It was revised and reissued as ABSINTHE 0F MALICE by Krill Press in 2008. An extensive excerpt can be read at Google Books —http://tinyurl.com/23pojdm.

The second book in the series, METAPHOR FOR MURDER, is a work in progress. ABSINTHE takes place on a Labor Day weekend. METAPHOR picks up the story the week before Christmas. Log line: Small town reporter Penny Mackenzie tracks an offbeat Christmas story and finds herself in the middle of a murder and the mysterious desecration of an old Chinese cemetery.

Pat’s articles on the writing life have appeared in The SouthWest Sage, the monthly journal of SouthWest Writers, based in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Her web site at http://patbrowning.weebly.com is under construction.

My Inspiration?  Basically I’m writing the story of my life so my characters and stories come right out of my everyday experiences. It’s really a holdover from my long years as a reporter. People are interesting. They do interesting things. You watch, you listen, you ponder, and the stories begin to form.

What do you most like about being an author?  I don’t think of myself as an author. I’m a writer, and have been since I was old enough to hold a pencil and stay within the lines of a notebook. My satisfaction as a writer comes from doing it. My satisfaction as a writer read by other people comes when they tell me they liked something I wrote.

As a columnist for The Hanford (California) Sentinel in the 1990s I wrote an occasional column about my marriage, my family and growing up in Oklahoma. People stopped me on the street and in the grocery store to tell me how much they liked those columns.

It’s always interesting to hear from readers. Nobody ever commented on my book reviews, but my personal columns and my cooking columns, with recipes, got all kinds of feedback. People do love to talk about family and food.

Now I put all that on my blog, Morning’s At Noon. What I really want to write is mysteries. I’m up to one and half. The other half is in bits and pieces. One of these days …

Reader Satisfaction? Every reader brings himself or herself to a book, reading it in light of his or her own experiences and beliefs. That’s fine with me. If a reader simply thinks, “Well, that was fun,” I’m satisfied.

Absinthe of Malice

I don’t write for the ages or even for today’s best seller lists. I write simply because I want to. I took on my first mystery as a challenge, just to see if I could do it. It took about four years, umpteen “final” drafts and a dozen online writing classes before I finally finished it. It was a lot harder than I thought it would be.

Now I’m halfway into Book #2 and I know how it’s done, but I can tell you – it doesn’t get easier. Stay tuned …

Thanks for having me, M.M. It was a pleasure to sound off a little. Good luck with the Mystery We Write blog tour.

ABSINTHE OF MALICE can be ordered through any bookstore or online from Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble.

Barnes and Noble, print and Nook http://tinyurl.com/43lgk5u

Amazon, print and Kindle http://tinyurl.com/3ry9gya

Thank you, Pat, for sharing your thoughts with us today!

Be sure to leave a comment and your name will go into the drawing for a free copy of Reticence of Ravens (three copies in total, randomly selected by Buster!)

21 Responses to “Welcome to Pat Browning”

  1. Madeline, thanks for hosting me. I love reading the comments!
    Pat Browning

  2. Earl, thanks for your comments. Tipping my hat here to you and your shorts — short stories, that is. (–8 Now THOSE are good reading!

    Pat

  3. Jackie, thanks for your generous comment. I love doing reviews of books I like.
    Pat

  4. Anne, I’m worse than the guy who started carving a Crazy Horse memorial in the Black Hills. Took him and his survivors 50 years just to do the face, but they work faster than I do. Maybe I should have taken up sculpting. LOL

    Pat

  5. Wendy, and I started out by saying, “How hard can it be?” Honestly, that’s exactly what I said when I decided to give it a shot. Ha ha ha. Let’s don’t even talk about how hard it can be!

    Pat

  6. Anne, as soon as this blog tour is over … I keep telling myself!
    Pat

  7. Marilyn,

    Actually it’s a composite of Hanford, Lemoore, Selma and Kingsburg. But that’s what I love about the Valley — there’s a little town hidden behind every clump of trees on old Highway 99.

    Hugs from here,

    Pat

  8. Caroline,

    Two of my favorite mysteries are set in Bakersfield — BLACKHEART Highway (2000) by Richard Barre and THE TUMBLEWEED MURDERS (2001) by Rebecca Rothenberg and Taffy Cannon. I’m also a great fan of “the Bakersfield sound” in country music.

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Pat Browning

  9. Jean,

    Once a reporter, always a reporter. I’m the one in every crowd who pulls a little notebook and pen out of her tote bag and starts scribbling notes. You, too?

    Pat Browning

  10. Kitty, do give ABSINTHE OF MALICE a try. It’s fiction but there’s so much real life in it I might as well have called it A DAY IN THE LIFE.

    Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, and happy reading!

    Pat Browning

  11. I’m enjoying reading ABSINTHE 0F MALICE and look forward to METAPHOR FOR MURDER. Write faster, Pat!

  12. Alice, you should have been with me on that trip. Nothing dull about Tangier, and oh, you kid! LOL

    Pat Browning

  13. To heck with what you said, Pat. That picture of you on the camel gets me every time! 🙂

  14. Kitty Kladstrup said

    I am enjoying this blog tour and getting exposure to writers/authors I didn’t know about before and to their books. Intriguing! I must have a look at Absinthe of Malice–love the title and the concept! Thanks Pat

  15. Good post, Madeline and Pat. My first newspaper reporting job was with the same newspaper duirng the 1970s, and I also consider myself a writer as opposed to an author. Maybe that’s true of most of us who began our writing careers in journalism.

  16. I enjoyed this post, Pat, but your reviews are what I enjoy most! They are always excellent.
    Jackie

  17. Pat, you’ve had a full and interesting life, and it comes through in your writing. Keep at it and get that next Penny book our there. Lots of us are waiting.

  18. Pat, you need to focus on book #2! I did learn something new though, I knew your book was set in Hanford, but didn’t realize how much of you was actually in it. Always fun to read about you.

  19. mmgornell said

    Pat, welcome to my blog tour spot. It’s a pleasure to host you, and a pleasure to get your picture riding a camel out further into cyber space! Wonderful part of this tour is meeting wonderful writers like you. Welcome!

    Madeline

  20. Pat, as a child I lived in Bakersfield for several years until my family moved back to Texas. I also enjoyed the time I was a newspaper reporter and featured columnist. Now I enjoy writing novels full time. I’m one of those waiting for your next book.

  21. W.S. Gager said

    Pat: The more I read about you, the more we have in common. Out of all the writing I’ve done in various forms, the mystery novel is the hardest. Keep plugging on that second book. You already have a huge number of fans waiting for it.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

Leave a Reply

