Welcome to Jinx Schwartz

December 3, 2011

Mystery We Write Blog Tour

Jinx, thank you for visiting my blog today and sharing your thoughts on Inspiration, Author Enjoyment, &  Reader Wishes

Jinx Schwartz was raised in the jungles of Haiti and Thailand, with returns to Texas in-between. Jinx followed her father’s steel-toed footsteps into the Construction and Engineering industry in hopes of building dams. Finding all the good rivers taken, she traveled the world defacing other landscapes with mega-projects in Alaska, Japan, New Zealand, Puerto Rico and Mexico.

Author Jinx Schwartz

Like the protagonist in her mystery series, Hetta Coffey, Jinx was a woman with a yacht—and she wasn’t afraid to use it—when she met her husband, Mad Dog Schwartz, they opted to become cash-poor cruisers rather than continue chasing the rat,  They sailed under the Golden Gate Bridge, turned left, and headed for Mexico. They now divide their time between Arizona and Mexico’s Sea of Cortez.

Jinx’s seventh book in her award-winning series, Just Deserts: Book Four of the Hetta Coffey mystery series, was recently released. Her other books include a YA fictography of her childhood in Haiti (Land of Mountains), an adventure in the Sea of Cortez (Troubled Sea) and an epic novel of the 30 years leading to the fall of the Alamo (The Texicans).

Thank you for hosting me today.

You asked, what or who inspired me and my stories? I write to entertain, and in the doing, sometimes inform.

My mystery series features  Hetta Coffey, a woman with a yacht, and she’s not afraid to use it. The inspiration for this series came from own experience of, as a single woman,  buying a large yacht to live on when I’d never owned a boat, and had no idea how to operate one. Hint: They do not have brakes.

Luckily I lived to tell the tales (highly embellished, of course) and for the past twenty-two years living aboard in Mexico’s Sea of Cortez offers untold inspiration for mystery and intrigue. After all, the problems Mexico is experiencing right now make the daily headlines.

What do I most like about being an author? Creating a good yarn, and making people laugh, cry, and maybe even discover. I cannot tell you how many—and I will admit most of them are men—who approach me at book signings and tell how much they’ve always wanted to buy a boat and sail away to paradise. They say they are living their unfulfilled dream through my writing; for an author this is the highest of praise.

What do I most want readers to take away from my novels?  Again, I’ve had readers tell me that because of my books, they have actually bought a boat and headed for Mexico. This a fairly heady responsibility, I’ll admit, but if they read carefully they will approach such a voyage with great caution. Although my adventures with Hetta are fiction, most could happen, and have.

Like any series writer, my hope is that when a reader finishes the last page of my latest novel, they are immediately pining for the next. Problem is, I can’t write as fast as they can read!

You can visit Jinx at:

http://www.jinxschwartz.com
http://www.jinxschwartz.blogspot.com/
http://www.facebook.com/search.php?q=jinx+schwartz&init=quick&tas=0.07603751917522189&search_first_focus=1314986941421

Click on Book Cover to Buy!

Just Deserts

Thank you, Jinx!

If you leave a comment, your name will go into the drawing for a free copy of Reticence of Ravens (three copies in total, randomly selected by Buster!)

7 Responses to “Welcome to Jinx Schwartz”

  1. mmgornell said

    Jinx, thanks so much for dropping by–sure has been a fun day on our tour. Much success!

    Madeline

  2. JInx, I so admire you for living your dream. You’re fearless, and to scaredy-cat me, that equals heroine material.

  3. I didn’t know yachts had brakes, Jinx! Although, come to think of it, why not? Very fun post!

  4. What a great lifestyle you have, Jinx. I’m still wondering what the line means, “she knows how to use it.” (The yacht, of course.)

  5. Actually, I’m probably the only one who doesn’t want to be sailing away, I’m quite happy here in the mountains. I love reading about you and your heroine’s adventures though.

    Marilyn

  6. mmgornell said

    Welcome, Jinx to the desert! I know it’s quite different from the Sea of Cortez, but with all the exotic locations you’ve handled–the Mojave has to be a piece of cake! I like your thought on “…maybe even discover.” So glad you’re here.

    Madeline

  7. W.S. Gager said

    Jinx: I want to be you when I grow up. Darn. I think it is too late. Nice post.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

Leave a Reply

