Welcome to Marilyn Meredith

December 5, 2011

Mystery We Write Blog Tour


I’m so pleased to have Marilyn on my blog today. She is a friend and guiding light that is strong, bright,  and generous in scope.  Thank you for visiting my blog today and sharing your thoughts on Inspiration, Author Enjoyment, &  Reader Wishes

Marilyn Meredith is the author of over thirty published novels, including the award winning Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery series, the latest Bears With Us from Mundania Press. Writing as F. M. Meredith, her latest Rocky Bluff P.D. crime novel is Angel Lost, the third from Oak Tree Press. Marilyn is a member of EPIC, Four chapters of Sisters in Crime, including the Central Coast chapter, Mystery Writers of America, and on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. (On the personal side, she’s a wife, mother, grandmother and great-grandmother and enjoys spending time with her huge family.)

Author Marilyn Meredith

Inspiration? When I read other authors’ books that I love, I’m inspired to write better. There are many who inspire me, including several on this mystery tour.

Inspiration for my mysteries comes from various places depending upon the story. Because I write a series about a Native American female resident deputy in and around a mountain town, I’m always looking for stories that will include a crime that might be unique to the area, something that could involve Indians or Indian lore, and a challenge for my heroine, Tempe.

Author Enjoyment? Because I love to write, being able to do that for a great part of my day is wonderful. One thing I never expected way back when I first began was how many new friends I’d make because of being an author. One of my favorites is the hostess of this blog, Madeline. We met at a book festival the first time, then we met again at a crime conference, then it’s been one place after another, and we enjoyed each other’s company.

I’ve made friends with so many authors that way, meeting them at a conference, convention, or book festival. It’s so much fun when you have the opportunity to meet them once again—almost like a reunion. The same thing has happened with readers I’ve met at various places. At a Left Coast Crime in Anchorage, I met two Native Alaskan sisters. We exchanged emails over the years and when Bouchercon was held in Anchorage, after the con I stayed with one of the sisters at her home in Wasilla for several days, had dinner with her family and became friends with her mom and dad. We all communicate via Facebook. A mother and daughter mystery fans I met at a con I kept running into here and there and formed a great friendship with them. We stay in touch through Facebook. There are way too many more to mention, but believe me, my life has been enriched in a way that would never have happened if I wasn’t an author.

Reader Wishes? First, I hope that the readers of my Deputy Tempe Crabtree mysteries will enjoy the experience of spending time in the Southern Sierra with Tempe while she solves whatever crimes she faces. At the end of the story, I want them to feel satisfied and to have enjoyed the time they spent reading. Most of all, though, I hope they’ll be anxious to know what is going to happen to Tempe in the future and be looking forward to the next book in the series.

Bears With Us

Visit Marilyn at http://fictionforyou.com and her blog at http://marilymeredith.blogspot.com/

Bears With Us  Blurb: Deputy Tempe Crabtree has her hands full when bears turn up in and around Bear Creek, a young teen commits suicide and his parents’ actions are suspicious, a prominent woman files a complaint against Tempe and her preacher husband Hutch, a love affair from long ago comes to light, and a woman suffering from dementia disappears.

Thank you, Marilyn!

If you leave a comment, your name will go into the drawing for a free copy of Reticence of Ravens (three copies in total, randomly selected by Buster!)

10 Responses to “Welcome to Marilyn Meredith”

  1. Thanks, Anne, I’m not sure I should be considered a guiding light for anyone, but I do hope I’ve helped some others along the way. Being an author can be lonely at times–what other profession is subjected to rejection and has their work reviewed over and over.

    But we keep on doing it because we love it.

    Marilyn

  2. mmgornell said

    What a lovely day, Marilyn. Thanks so much for visiting, always great hearing your thoughts!

    Madeline

  3. Like Madeline, I consider you, Marilyn, “a guiding light”, and hope to meet you in person one day. I’m also thrilled to have found an author who makes me want to write better.

    Great post!

  4. Watch out for the Chai, Jean, it’s addicting.

    Marilyn

  5. A lovely post, Marilyn. I’ve also made a lot writer friends on the Internet and at conferences. (I don’t meet many here on the mountain). Thanks, Madeline. I’ll take a cup of chai.

  6. Thanks for stopping by, Colleen. I do like writing about where I live, though I can assure we don’t have quite as many murders here as in my books.

    Chocolate velvet coffee sounds might tempting, Jackie.

  7. Another good post Marilyn. I’m having Chocolate Velvet Coffee with you gals, this morning. And I’m loving it…

  8. My list of interesting books to read grows longer with each stop on this tour. Marilyn’s books sound interesting. I love when authors specialize in a region they know well.
    Colleen Fong

  9. Thanks for my Chai, Madeline, and thank you so much for allowing me to visit. Marilyn

  10. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Marilyn. So nice you’re stopping by this morning. Tea kettle is on, I’m already sipping English Breakfast, and a pot of Chai is ready for you–hope I spelled that correctly. Welcome!

    Madeline

Leave a Reply

