Welcome to Jackie King

December 7, 2011

Mystery We Write Blog Tour

Jackie, thank you for visiting my blog today and sharing your thoughts on Inspiration, Author Enjoyment, &  Reader Wishes

Jackie King loves books, words, and writing tall tales. She especially enjoys murdering the people she dislikes on paper. She is a full time writer who sometimes teaches writing at Tulsa Community College. Her latest novel, THE INCONVENIENT CORPSE is a traditional mystery. She has also written five novellas as co-author of the Foxy Hens Series. Warm Love on Cold Streets is her latest novella and is included in the anthology THE FOXY HENS MEET A ROMANTIC ADVENTURER. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, Romance Writers of America, RWI, Inc, Oklahoma Writers Federation, and Tulsa Night Writers!

Author Jackie King

Thanks M. M., for hosting me on this 13th day of our Holiday Blog Tour. And thanks to each of your readers for taking a break from their holiday preparations to join us.  M.M. sent me these interesting questions:

What/who inspires you and your stories?  Inspiration seems a great mystery to me. Often when I’m doing something very mundane, such as loading the dishwasher, watering my house plants, or walking out to get the mail, a story idea will flash into my mind. But I think I’ve come up with my best plot and character ideas while I’m driving or putting on makeup. Nothing inspiring about any of these tasks, but perhaps while my body is occupied with ordinary things, my subconscious becomes free to zap a story idea into my brain. There’s no other way I can explain inspiration…it’s one of life’s great mysteries. And I so love a mystery.

What do you most like about being an author?  Writing allows me to be me. Few other things do. As a child I soon learned I’d better squelch my tongue-in-cheek sense of humor, because it often got me into trouble. My Grandma thought I was sassing her and threatened to slap me. Most grownups took what I said as being a smart mouth. (Okay, they were probably right, but joking was so fun!) I loved the adults in my life and started editing most of what I said into something I thought would please them.My learned habit of tongue-holding served me well as an employee. After an unexpected change in my life plans, I was able to support myself. For this I’m grateful.

The man I married didn’t like my sense of humor either, so I grew very quiet over the years. And boring, I suppose. When he left after years of marriage I decided to get reacquainted with myself. I went back to writing, and on paper, I could tell the truth. My characters could say whatever they pleased. Of course this got them into hot water, but that’s what readers seemed to like. It’s easy to identify with someone who is in trouble, isn’t it? And this is what I love most about writing.

What do you most want readers to take away from your novels—what do you want them to think and feel when the last page is read? I want my readers to finish the last sentence of my book(s) with a sense of satisfaction; happy that justice can happen, if only in fiction. Most of us read mysteries to test our wits and to expand our lives. Since I write cozy mysteries, I want my readers to have a smile on their lips when they think of  THE INCONVENIENT CORPSE, or any of my stories.

And remember to make comments on each of our 15-member mystery writer’s blogsites. We’re giving away over 50 books total, either during the tour or immediately afterwards. I’m giving away a signed copy of my cozy mystery THE INCONVENIENT CORPSE and a signed copy of  THE FOXY HENS AND MURDER MOST FOWL. Names will be drawn by random from those who take time to leave a comment. Also, don’t forget to leave comments at each of our Holiday Blog Tour team members blog sites for a chance to win their books.

Blogsite: Cozy Mysteries and Other Madness:http://bnbmysteries.blogspot.com

The Inconvenient Corpse

THE INCONVENIENT CORPSE is available at Jackie’s website: www.jacqking.com, Amazon and Barnes & Noble as well as available through all bookstores. Paper tradeback: $15.95.  Kindle $2.99  http://amzn.to/gMv7CH Nook $2.99  http://bit.ly/fovbLR

Thank you, Jackie, for your thoughtful comments and generosity–and for pointing out the generosity of all our blog tour participants! What a great tour.

If you leave a comment, your name will go into the drawing for a free copy of Reticence of Ravens (three copies in total, randomly selected by Buster!)

Today I’m visiting with Alice Duncan and talking about Rewriting. Sounds boring, but for me it’s fun!

http://aliceduncanblog.blogspot.com/

9 Responses to “Welcome to Jackie King”

  1. Jackie, I’m so glad you finally found your niche and your voice in writing. You’re right where you should be.

  2. Brenda, I’m delighted that we’re kindred hearts! We were all readers before we became writers, and reading is my great joy.
    Thanks for stopping by. Your name is going into my black fedora for a chance at winning one of my free books.

    Tomorrow is our last Writer’s Post on the MYSTERY WE WRITE BLOG TOUR for 2011. After that I plan on drawing two names from my brimming hat and sending these winners a free book.
    Hugs,
    Jackie

  3. W.S. Gager said

    Jackie: I too like putting crazy words in character’s mouths. You’ve met Mitch a few days ago. Life is good!
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  4. Brenda said

    I look forward to these books. I loved this: “I want my readers to finish the last sentence of my book(s) with a sense of satisfaction, happy that justice can happen, if only in fiction.” I think that so beautifully says one of the reasons I read mysteries.

  5. Jean, Don’t you just hate it when someone thinks you’re serious when you’re only joking? Makes a person feel very foolish.

    And Marilyn, I too, hope we will one day meet in person. I’ve been visualizing your energy and bubbly personality working a room.

    Hugs all around,
    Jackie

  6. Love your post, Jackie. I’ve always had the same problem with my humor getting me in trouble, so it’s been great fun having a character, Sarah Cafferty, spout things that I couldn’t get away with.

  7. Madeline, You are a darling! Coffee is what I desperately need right now. I overslept and am working without my usual infusion of caffine. So any typos are not my fault. 🙂

    I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be this morning than on your desert. What a lovely picture you have on your blog.

    And I’d like to invite readers to also visit Marilyn Meredith’s interesting article on mystery subgenres on my blog. Thanks Marilyn both for being my guest on ‘Cozy Mysteries and Other Madness,’ and for dropping by here to chat with me.
    Hugs to all,
    Jackie

  8. That was great, Jackie. I keep learning more and more about you. I hope one day we can meet in person and have a good chat.

    Marilyn

  9. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Jackie! So glad you stopped by. Still chilly here, but I have coffee and tea all ready for you. I like your sentiment that justice can happen, if only in fiction. We’re going to have a great day.

    Madeline

Leave a Reply

