Marilyn Meredith — On Tour!

April 12, 2012

No Bells

Becoming fond of blog tours. I get to learn so much about other authors, and I can do it from home–no travel involved!

Accomplished author and friend, Marilyn Meredith, is touring with No Bells, her latest Rocky Bluff P.D. series. One of my most favorite fictional places to visit. And Officer Gordon Butler is for me, one of Marilyn’s most endearing characters.

Today, Marilyn has been kind enough to address for us how writing has impacted her life.

How Writing Has Impacted My Life

My love for writing stories began when I first started reading. I wrote stories, poems, and plays. Because I married right out of high school and had a big family, for a long while my writing was confined to PTA newsletters and plays for my Camp Fire Girls to perform.

My sister researched our family genealogy and there were so many unexplained events, I decided to write a fictional historical family saga based on each side of the family. My first one was written and then rewritten over and over while being rejected nearly 30 times. I learned a lot during that process. After those two books were published, I decide to write a mystery since that’s what I loved to read. I tried other genres too, but I will probably stick to mysteries from now on.

Writing has impacted my life in many ways. I started going to mystery conferences and conventions and met authors that I loved including Mary Higgins Clark, Sue Grafton and Jan Burke. I traveled to cities I’d would have never visited if it hadn’t been the location of a Bouchercon or Left Coast Crime. I made friends with two Native Alaskan sisters while attending Left Coast Crime in Anchorage. And I had a great adventure traveling across frozen ice to visit a school in a small Alaskan village. On a return visit to Alaska for Bouchercon, I stayed with one of the young women from my first trip, met her whole family, and spoke to all the children at a middle school in Wasilla about writing a mystery.

I joined the Public Safety Writers Association back when it was the Police Writers Club thinking why not since I wrote about police officers. When the group almost died, several of us got together and resurrected it and I’ve been the program chair for the PSWA writers conference ever since. Through this group I’ve become friends with men and women in law enforcement, the FBI, Forensic experts, a coroner and all sorts of interesting fields.

And this brings me to probably what has impacted my life the most, so many wonderful friends who share the love of writing. Not just mysteries, though if I took the time to count, I’d probably find that the majority are mystery writers. I’ve writing friends who live in many parts of the country who I only see once a year at one mystery conference or another. And then there are the friends who live closer and I actually get to spend a little more time with. Some of them are fellow members of Sisters in Crime, others I’ve been roommates with at conferences or been tablemates at a book festival.

SLO

Marilyn and Madeline at SLO Book Festival

In fact, I met at Madeline at a book fair and since that time we’ve been together at several book events and conferences, even sharing a room at Left Coast Crime. She’s become a close friend and I want to thank her for hosting me today. Once she actually considered renting a room to Officer Gordon Butler who has a starring part in my latest Rocky Bluff P.D. crime novel, No Bells.

In this adventure, Officer Gordon Butler has finally found the love he’s been seeking for a long time, but there’s one big problem, she’s the major suspect in a murder case.

Marilyn Meredith

More About Marilyn:

F.M. Meredith, also known as Marilyn Meredith, is the author of over thirty published novels—and a few that will never see print. Her latest in the Rocky Bluff P.D. crime series, from Oak Tree Press, is No Bells. Rocky Bluff P.D. is a fictional beach community between Ventura and Santa Barbara and F. M. once lived in a similar beach area.

F. M. (Marilyn) is a member of EPIC, Four chapters of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and serves as the program chair for the Public Safety Writers of America’s writing conference. She’s been an instructor at many writing conferences.

Website: http://fictionforyou.com/

Blog: http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com/

 And Marilyn is having a contest on her No Bells blog tour

The person who comments on the most blogs on my tour will win three books in the Rocky Bluff P.D. series: No Sanctuary, An Axe to Grind, and Angel Lost. Be sure and leave your email too, so I can contact you.

Thank you, Marilyn, for dropping by–sure had a great time at LCC 2012!

23 Responses to “Marilyn Meredith — On Tour!”

  1. marilynm said

    Thanks for your lovely compliment, Colleen!

  2. Colleen Walsh Fong said

    Your perseverance and belief in your writing has given us the gift of your entertaining books, Marilyn. Thanks for sticking with your passion.

  3. mmgornell said

    Marilyn, what a great day you had yesterday. Maybe some more people will drop by today!

  4. marilynm said

    There have been a couple of bumps along the way, but it has been fun.

  5. Janet Kerr said

    Thank you for sharing how much writing has impacted your life.
    Looks like your blog tour is going great guns!
    Jan
    janet_kerr(at)msn.com

  6. marilynm said

    Hi, Radine, I used to be pretty insecure myself. I still don’t like to make phone calls, but I’ve certainly come to enjoy meeting new people like you! (Another author I’ve spend many happy hours with.)

  7. radine said

    I was so much an introvert that (example) during a birthday party (mine) my mother found me in my closet, reading a book. BUT: Something happened to that “don’t like big, loud groups” person after I became a published author. I had something to talk about with others in my profession. We understood one another. I was part of the group rather than someone standing aside, wondering what I could say, and watching others gather and talk “small talk.” (Ask Professor Henry Higgins.) At last, I really BELONGED and had something to contribute that made sense. Hooray for being a writer.

  8. marilynm said

    Hi, Jinx, someone else I’ve actually met–at an Epicon. I no longer have copies of either of my books based on my family’s genealogy. One day I’ll get on the ball and publish them to Kindle.

  9. Marilyn, I didn’t realize we had the book-to-set-geneaolgy/family history straight in common. It was much fun to take all those charts, history books, etc, and make them come to life with ancestors as characters (like The Texicans). Maybe we should do a blog tour on this subject!!!

  10. marilynm said

    Thanks, John. I love writing and all the activity that goes on around it.

  11. It was a pleasure reading your cheerful words, Marilyn. Yours, too, Madeline. You two both celebrate writing beautifully.

  12. marilynm said

    Hi, Marja, another friend I’ve met in person along the way. First at a Bouchercon, at your library, and again at PSWA conference. I value your friendship and love your books.

  13. Marilyn, I always enjoy your blogs. You hit on something that’s struck me on more than one occasion, and that’s the number of good friends I’ve made since I started writing. We sure are blessed.

  14. marilynm said

    That was so nice, Maureen. Thank you. I’m having fun on this tour and meeting new people like you is a great pleasure.

  15. scrapgirl1467 said

    With each post you give me hope! I feel as if maybe be day all my writing will come to mean something too! You have so much energy, so much spirit, so much life – I am not surprised you have made friends everywhere you’ve gone, you have a special something that makes people want to be around you and get to know you. Thank you for sharing your story with us!

    Please enter me in the contest for the books at:
    Scrapgirl1467 (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Thanks,
    Maureen

  16. marilynm said

    And Jake, I tried to put a different photo up for each blog–not everyone used what I sent though. Thanks for stopping by.

  17. marilynm said

    Hi, Anne, well doing a tour as you well know is time consuming, but kind of energizes me.

  18. Great post, ladies. Love the pic of you together. Also, from where I’m standing…um, make that “sitting”, Marilyn, your energy level is impressive!

  19. jblinco said

    We see you have a different photo for today. Always enjoy reading your comments. Your conferences sound like fun in addition to being educational. Until tomorrow.
    Madeline thank you for getting Marilyn to share. Looking forward to reading one of your novels & getting hooked.Jake

  20. I really don’t have that much energy, ask Madeline. I just get up early and start plugging away. I fade in the afternoon and always go to bed early–except when I’m at mystery cons.

  21. What an inspiration you are, if only I had half your energy.

  22. Thanks for having me, Madeline, and I’m glad to spend some time with you again.

  23. mmgornell said

    Welcome Marilyn! I’m sure we’ll have a lovely and fun day. Madeline

Leave a Reply

