A Blog Tour Welcome to Earl Staggs

April 20, 2012

Earl, so glad to be visiting with you again. This is our second tour together and we’re still having fun! Many thanks for your wonderful answers…

Earl Staggs

Derringer Award winning author Earl Staggs has seen many of his short stories published in magazines and anthologies. His novel MEMORY OF A MURDER earned a long list of Five Star reviews. He served as Managing Editor of Futures Mystery Magazine and as President of the Short Mystery Fiction Society. He is also a contributing blog member of Murderous Musings and Make Mine Mystery and is a frequent speaker at conferences and writers groups.

You asked interesting questions, Madeline. I hope my answers are interesting to your readers.

ChallengesThe biggest challenge has always been having enough time to write. So many things come along and pull me away from it. For one thing, I have a part time job which takes me out of the house every day. It’s only two hours in the morning and another two in the afternoon, but it keeps me in contact with other members of the human race. Then there’s the house, and there’s always something that needs doing around a house. And my wife, of course. She always seems to have chores for me to do or a shopping trip I have to go on. If I gave up the job, the house and the wife, I could devote all of my time to writing. But then I’d be a divorced, destitute hermit living in a cave. I don’t think I could do my best work under those conditions, so I suppose I’ll leave things the way they are.

On the horizon – Topping the list are two projects I plan to finish this year. One is a novel called TALL CHAMBERS: JUSTIFIED ACTION. I call a Mystery/Thriller, and I’ve been working on it for a couple years. The central character, Tall Chambers, is involved in a secretive agency which tracks terrorist groups and puts them out of business by whatever means necessary. Tall eventually finds himself torn between personal vengeance and doing what’s best for his country.

Memory of a Murder

The other project scheduled for completion this year is a sequel to my novel MEMORY OF A MURDER. Adam Kingston, my protagonist in that one, was so well received, a sequel is a must. It’s taken me a long time to develop a plot I felt strong enough for him, but I have it now and am anxious to finish it and get it out there. MEMORY OF A MURDER earned a long list of Five Star reviews and I’m hoping Adam’s new adventure does as well.

This year I also plan to get better acquainted with the new forms of promotion available on the Internet. Now, I quake with fear at the thought of getting involved with Facebook, Twitter, and others, but they have become major avenues for communication between writers and readers. This part of my plan for this year is <gulp> scarier than finishing the two books on my list.

Short Stories of Earl Staggs

On the horizon That would have to be achieving a wide diversity in the types of stories I write. Some writers find a niche in a sub-genre such as Hardboiled, Police Procedural, or any other and are comfortable there. I like variety both when I read and when I write. That’s why my short stories range from Hardboiled to Humorous and all the stops in between. I included this kind of variety when I selected sixteen stories for a collection called SHORT STORIES OF EARL STAGGS. For anyone who likes short mystery stories, the collection is on sale in ebook form for 99 cents through the end of April. Complete information available at: http://tinyurl.com/7fz8u6m

Thanks for the excellent questions, Madeline, and the opportunity to toss out my thoughts here. Thanks also to everyone who took the time to visit and read them. I hope you’ll take another minute to leave a comment here. On April 29, I’ll put the names of everyone who commented in a hat and draw two of them. The first one drawn will receive a signed print copy of my novel, MEMORY OF A MURDER. The second name drawn will have a choice of a print version or ebook of my collection, SHORT STORIES OF EARL STAGGS.

You’re also invited to visit my website at http://earlwstaggs.wordpress.com You’ll find Chapter One of MEMORY OF A MURDER there. You’ll also find a short story called “The Day I Almost Became a Great Writer.” Some say it’s the funniest story I’ve ever written. There’s also one called “White Hats and Happy Trails,” about the day I spent with a boyhood idol, Roy Rogers. My email address is earlstaggs@sbcglobal.net

Oh Earl, I loved your answers and learning more about you! I’ve had a great time. Come back whenever you’re in the mood!

________________________________

And Don’t Forget:

Buster will also be selecting winners of three of my latest at the end of our tour.


12 Responses to “A Blog Tour Welcome to Earl Staggs”

  1. mlmartinez3 said

    I think a balance of mystery and humor goes a long way. Great post!

  2. kevin tipple said

    “Kevin, I’m sure you know what you’re full of. There’s lot of it in Texas. Just look in any pasture.”

    Grass? Butterflies?

  3. I’m glad you liked my short stuff, Jean. I hope you fInd time to read MEMORY OF A MURDER cuz I’d love to know what you think of it.

    Marja, I agree. Sometimes living like a hermit in a cave seems to be the answer to many problems.

    Kevin, I’m sure you know what you’re full of. There’s lot of it in Texas. Just look in any pasture.

    Anne, I can’t imagine anyone with your personality being a recluse.

    Jackie! Missing you on this tour. Seeya on the next one, I hope.

    Marilyn, don’t you know if you were really, really sweet to your hubby, HE would do the cooking and laundry?

    Not to worry, Kaye. I’ll have both Tall and Adam out there before the end of this year or I’ll be cave hunting for real.

    Thanks for having me here, Madeline, and thanks to everyone who came by. This tour visiting is sooooo much fun.

  4. I loved your short stories, Earl, and your humor. Memory of a Murder is definitely on my TBR list.

  5. I loved your short stories Earl and appreciate your humor. Memory of a Murder is definitely on my TBR list.

  6. I, too, want to thank you for brightening my day. Destitute hermit living in a cave? Hmm. That doesn’t sound all bad. Terrific blog!

  7. So glad you got the very reclusive Earl Staggs to talk. Notorious for being a hermit and socially unresponsive, it is amazing to read so much commentary from the man. I’m just shocked!

    Kevin
    (who is actually “The Second Most Interesting Man In The World”–that no one ever talks about—and is exempt from winning anything due to his sarcastic and funny wit, amazingly good looks and charm, and the hidden truth that he fixed all the Texas parts in Earl’s works)

  8. Anne K. Albert said

    LOL, Earl. Like so many authors, I also feel like and often behave like a recluse. I’d love to say it helps with my public persona…but I don’t have one! It’s just fiction. 🙂

  9. What a fun post! Love Earl and his sense of humor.

  10. mmgornell said

    What a pleasure having you visiting, Earl. Always so interesting hearing what you have to say. You’ve brought a smile an early morning smile to my face!

  11. marilynm said

    Thanks for the laugh so early this a.m. (I’m in California, you know.) Like Kaye, the destitute hermit living in a cave rang a bell with me. I still have to cook, do the laundry and spend time with my hubby or I’d probably end up with one of the kids.

  12. Earl, honey – you crack me up. We all know your lovely bride is never going to allow you to become a divorced, destitute hermit living in a cave, but get the new Adam sequel finished AND the Tall Chambers novel, please, you know – just in case . . . .

Leave a Reply

