A Blog Tour Welcome to Mary Martinez

April 21, 2012

Mary, so glad to meet you on this Spring Tour. One of the great things about our “events” is being introduced to new authors. Thanks for so honestly and willingly addressing my curiosity. Welcome to the Mojave!

Mary Martinez

And before we start, Mary, would you mind giving us a bit of background on yourself?

Well… Where to start, there’s so much to tell and so little time. NOT. Just kidding. I grew up in a little town, Riverton, Utah. Though it’s not so little now, but back in the dark ages of dinosaurs when my grand-kids think I was a little girl, the town was farmland. The fourth of July was my favorite—picture Doc Hollywood—we had rodeo’s though instead of a squash. We had a big parade and my mom and dad would dress up like barber shop singers and ride the bicycle made for two (now called tandem bike).

I’ve always wanted to write, most of it didn’t happen though. When the kids were small—long before home computers—it was too hard to take them to the library to research and work. So I determined that I’d wait until they grew up and moved out. I settled for growing up, since it seemed they’d never move out.

And here I am, 5 full length novels later—two more coming this year.

Thank you, Madeline, for hosting me on your blog today. I love meeting new people, and visiting their homes (blogs).

Challenges in reaching your writing goals– Me. Yup I’m my own worst enemy. I’m easily distracted with family. If I have a to do list it HAS to be done before I can write. And unfortunately as soon as one task comes off, another goes up. So I’m continually saying to myself as soon as I’m through with this I’ll have time to sit and write, edit, promote. And it is so hard for me to find time to actually write. And now I have a day job it is even worse.

Oh, Mary, do I know the feeling!

On the horizonI am publishing The Beckett series (I will tell you all about later), plus I’m working on the Nana Adventures with my three oldest grandsons. We’ve actually done a walk about Magna (the small town we live in) and done a poster with the map of the town, and houses that look a lot like they could be in our town. We’ve plotted each chapter out and the boys have their own character with their own special power. It’s called the History Mystery. And you’ll just have to wait to see what happens.

Satisfaction–That I could actually finish writing a full novel, and not to mention seeing it in print. But right now the most pleasure I’m having is brainstorming with the grandsons.

I’ve also enjoyed the many National Romance Writers Conferences I’ve attended, the friends I’ve met there. And I’ve met so many wonderful authors on line. It’s been all worth it even if I hadn’t published—Though I’m glad I did.

Now here’s a bit about my new series:

The Beckett Series

The Beckett’s have a strong sense of family and honor. When one of their own is threatened, their bond is as strong as a badge of steel.

Trailer (Must see! Best viewed on full screen) and Series information:

http://www.marymartinez.com/beckettseries.html

Disappear (Book I of The Beckett Series)

Available in eBook now at:

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007GHO1MI

Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/disappear-mary-martinez/1109266974?ean=2940013908833&

Smashwords http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/138298

Print available May 2012

Mary’s web site: http://www.marymartinez.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/marylmartinez

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mlmartinez33

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1646623.Mary_Martinez

Blog: http://marysbooksblogger.blogspot.com/

During the blog tour Mary will be throwing all the people’s name who comment about the content of her posts, at each stop, into a hat for a drawing. She will be giving away to two lucky winners, one copy of any of her books (winner’s choice). Winners will be announced at the wrap up at the end of the blog tour, April 28th.

Thank you, Mary, for stopping by–and bringing the wine!

_______________________________

And don’t forget:

Buster will also be selecting three winners of my latest at the end of our tour.



9 Responses to “A Blog Tour Welcome to Mary Martinez”

  1. mlmartinez3 said

    I was out all weekend, so I apologize for not posting until now. Thanks for all the comments!

  2. Another great interview. The more I read these tour posts, the more I realize how much we writers have in common. I look forward to reading your work, Mary.

  3. mmgornell said

    Thanks for visiting today, loved your post, and enjoyed all the comments!

    Madeline

  4. Anne K. Albert said

    Mary, I hear you on being your own worst enemy. I do the same thing. I can find anything to take me away from writing. Lately, however, I’ve come to the realization enough is enough…At this stage of life there are more words to write than time! (Scary, but true.) 😦

  5. Oh, Mary, I so understand those distractions. It’s difficult to be an author and have a life at the same time. I really enjoyed learning more about you. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Mary, I think it’s terrific that you’re brainstorming with your grandsons. That has to be a priceless experience. Thanks for a great post today.

  7. jblinco said

    Do so enjoy learning about you classy writers. Going to over 100 today so you know why I like my books. Thank you both for an early morning adventure.Jake

  8. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Mary! Welcome to the Mojave. It’s a beautiful day both here in the desert and in your wonderful garden!

  9. marilynm said

    Mary, I’ve so enjoyed learningmore about you. I had to laugh at the part about the kids growing up but not moving out. I have one who comes and goes and comes back–and he’s a grandpa. We just keep on writing no matter what.

Leave a Reply

