A Blog Tour Welcome to Marja McGraw

April 23, 2012

Marja, so glad to be on tour with you.  Really enjoying our tour, and getting to know everyone better. Welcome to the Mojave, and our wonderful Spring weather!

Marja McGraw

Marja McGraw was born and raised in Southern California. She worked in both civil and criminal law for 15 years, state transportation for another 17 years, and most recently for a city building department.  She has lived and worked in California, Nevada, Oregon, Alaska and Arizona.

McGraw wrote a weekly column for a small town newspaper in Northern Nevada, and conducted a Writers’ Support Group in Northern Arizona. A member of Sisters in Crime (SinC), she was also the Editor for the SinC-Internet Newsletter for a year and a half.

She has appeared on KOLO-TV in Reno, Nevada, and KLBC in Laughlin, Nevada, and various radio talk shows. She and her husband now live in Arizona, where life is good.

Challenges— Am I allowed to say everything is a challenge? Just joking – in a way. I truly love writing, so I can’t call that a challenge. When I’m working on a book, I’m totally focused on the story. Unfortunately, life, marketing and promoting get in the way.

I suppose the biggest challenge is getting my name “out there”. Unless I change my name to something like Janet Evanovich or Mary Higgins Clark, people are going to say “Margie Who?” Okay, if you can get Evanovich right, surely you can figure out Marja McGraw. Or not. Very few people get my name right. It actually sounds like “large” with an “a” on the end. Larga/Marja.

I’ve joined groups, I’ve volunteered for a few things (time permitting), I try to sneak in comments on the various groups from time to time and then I hope I haven’t said something dumb or offensive. I can be outspoken sometimes. I’ve done many presentations at libraries, bookstores and for civic groups. It’s all part of marketing and promotion.

Lest we forget, most of us have family and/or jobs to attend to, also. And occasionally I like to do something just plain social.

So balancing all of the activities becomes the challenge.

On your writing horizon–Right now I’m working on Death Comes in Three’s, another Sandi Webster mystery. This one will let the reader in on some of Sandi’s past and the past of a few other repeat characters in the books. Her first case involving a murder comes back to haunt her in the form of a killer who’s escaped from prison. Her partner, Pete, is out-of-town and unreachable, so that leaves her menopausal mother, an elderly neighbor, and a teeny tiny friend to help her out of this mess. Oh, and her friend, Stanley Hawks, who doesn’t really want anyone to know how he met Sandi and Pete.

Bogey’s Ace in the Hole was just released in March, 2012, and They Call Me Ace, another Bogey Man mystery is due to be released in January, 2013.

Pleasure and satisfaction–Three things come to mind. The writing itself is both pleasurable and satisfying. Secondly, the people I’ve met and the friends I’ve made because of my writing career. Thirdly, I’m amazed that readers actually like my books and I take great pleasure from entertaining people. It doesn’t get much better than this.

Thank you so much for inviting me in today, Madeline. I really enjoyed visiting with you.

Oh, Marja, it was my pleasure! (and I hope I pronounced your name right! (smile)) Looking forward to chatting again down the road.

Bogey's Ace in the Hole

 
 Marja says that each of her mysteries contains a little humor, a little romance and A Little Murder! Books include Bogey’s Ace in the Hole and Bogey Nights, the first two in the Bogey Man Mysteries.  A Well-Kept Family Secret, Bubba’s Ghost, Prudy’s Back, The Bogey Man and Old Murders Never Die are all part of the Sandi Webster series.
 
Website link: http://www.marjamcgraw.com/
Blog link: http://blog.marjamcgraw.com/
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_8?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=marja+mcgraw&sprefix=marja+mc%2Caps%2C174
 
At the end of this tour, two names will be randomly selected from those who’ve left comments and they’ll each receive a copy of Bogey’s Ace in the Hole. Be sure to leave your email address.

________________________________

Buster will also be selecting winners of three of my latest at the end of our tour.


15 Responses to “A Blog Tour Welcome to Marja McGraw”

  1. Buster, and Jake, You two are too funny.

  2. mmgornell said

    Hi Jake, my friend, I’m sneaking in a comment when Madeline isn’t looking…I wouldn’t think of cheating–wink, wink.

    Buster

  3. Hi, Jake. Winners will be random from everyone who has commented, and I’ll announce the winners on my blog shortly after the tour ends. Good luck! : )

  4. jblinco said

    Hey Buster just a reminder we guys need to stick together when you are selecting winner.

  5. Jackie, Thank you so much. And thank you, too, for checking out the trailers. They’re a lot of fun to put together and I think they represent the books pretty well.

    Madeline, I’m glad I’m still here, too. You really have a great site!

  6. That sounds like some interesting reading, Mar -ja! I put a couple of them on my wish list on Amazon.com. cute trailers on your site too. Thanks Madeleine for another interesting author.

  7. mmgornell said

    Marja, so glad you’re staying for another day! I’m really enjoying your visit.

    Madeline

  8. Hi Jackie, Nice to see you here! At this stage I can’t even begin to think what it would be like to just write. It would be nice though.

  9. Hi Marja, I enjoyed what you had to say about challenges. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could just write?

  10. Hi Anne, Thanks for stopping in. Other than writing, probably the most fun is meeting new people. I hope to meet you in person one day. : )

  11. Anne K. Albert said

    Hi MarJa…and yes, I’ve always pronounced it properly! Like you, I find the promotion end of things time consuming, yet (also like you) I enjoy meeting authors and readers. And like Jake, I’m looking forward to your next two books!

  12. Good afternoon, everyone. Just got home from work and found your lovely comments.

    Jake, Thanks for the kind words! Sometimes we need a boost.

    Marilyn, It’s been following all of you. We are a group of interesting people.

    Madeline, Thank you so much for having me in today. Sorry I couldn’t make it earlier.

  13. jblinco said

    Oh, we really liked this one. At least 2 more books in our future. Find all of your characters so real. Just finished your latest Bogey featuring those fascinating Church Ladies. Registered a 10 on our star scale.Jake

  14. marilynm said

    Hi, Marja, it’s been fun following you around and learning more about you and your books.

  15. mmgornell said

    Good Morning, Marja, and welcome!

Leave a Reply

