A Blog Tour Welcome to Marilyn Meredith

April 25, 2012

I’m so pleased to visit with Marilyn this morning. As you know from previous posts, she’s one of my favorite authors, and a friend. So here we are on tour again…

Marilyn Meredith

F.M. Meredith, also known as Marilyn Meredith, is the author of over thirty published novels—and a few that will never see print. Her latest in the Rocky Bluff P.D. crime series, from Oak Tree Press, is No Bells. Rocky Bluff P.D. is a fictional beach community between Ventura and Santa Barbara and F. M. once lived in a similar beach area.

Marilyn is a member of EPIC, Four chapters of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and serves as the program chair for the Public Safety Writers of America’s writing conference. She’s been an instructor at many writing conferences.

Madeline asked three thought provoking questions. I’ll try my best to answer them. I’ll be interested in seeing how the other authors on tour answer as well.

The first was what do you consider—either in the past or now—the biggest challenges in reaching your writing goals?

Before I can answer this I have to decide what my writing goals were and what they are now. When I was beginning, my writing goal was to write a good enough book that a publishing company would want to publish it. The challenges back then were the fact that a manuscript had to be typed on a typewriter with carbon paper inserted between two pieces of paper. (And you had to make sure you did it the right way or the copy would be on the back of the original.) All submissions had to be mailed off in a box with another box inside, self-addressed and with the right amount of postage so it could come back to you if it was rejected. No multiple submissions in those days. Despite the challenges, I did manage to finally have that first manuscript accepted for publication—after nearly thirty rejections.

Today, though I have two great publishers, I write my books on a computer and submit electronically, I think the biggest challenge is all the promotion that has to be done in order to reach the goal of having people buy and read my books. I’m never quite sure what I should be doing. Is telling people about my books through blogs, Facebook and Twitter enough? Of course I still do the in-person things: talks at bookstores and libraries, appearing at craft and book festivals.

The second question was what was on my writing horizon for the coming year.

I’m writing another Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery while polishing the next Rocky Bluff P.D. crime novel. (It will be number 9.) Ahead of me is lots of promotion for number 8 in the series, No Bells which is the book I’m on tour with right now. No matter what I’m doing or where I am, I’m always looking for ideas for either series.

And her third question was what in my writing career has given me the most pleasure and/or satisfaction?

My answer has to be all the wonderful people I’ve met along the way—some readers, some writers. In Alaska, I met a young Native woman who I was privileged to stay with for a few days. I’m still in touch with her and her family through Facebook. I became good friends with a mother and daughter that I met at several mystery cons, especially the now defunct Mayhem in the Midlands. In No Bells the hero’s love interest is named Benay Weiss—the mother’s name. The daughter entered a contest I had for someone to have a character named for him or her, but she wanted her mother’s name used. I’m anxious to hear what she thinks when she reads the book.

While promoting, I’ve met many authors who have become close friends, among them M.M. (Madeline) Gornell. We’ve had the opportunity to spend time together at various events, including being roommates at Left Coast Crime. We’ve also been at several book festivals together.

And of course, there’s nothing like having a reader tell me how much he or she enjoyed reading one of my books.

F. M. Meredith aka Marilyn Meredith

No Bells

                        No Bells

Officer Gordon Butler has finally found the love he’s been seeking for a long time, but there’s one big problem, she’s the major suspect in a murder case.

Link to purchase No Bells http://tiny.cc/h8skbw

You can visit Marilyn at. http://tiny.cc/h8skbw  http://fictionforyou.com and her blog at http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com . And if you’d like to get in touch with her email: mmeredith@ocsnet.net

MARILYN’S CONTEST: The person who comments on the most of my blogs on this MMW Spring Blog Tour will win a copy of No Bells so be sure to leave your email too, so I can contact you if you win.

Thank you, Marilyn, for Visiting!

____________________________________

And Don’t Forget:

Buster will also be selecting winners of three of my latest at the end of our tour.


11 Responses to “A Blog Tour Welcome to Marilyn Meredith”

  1. mmgornell said

    Thanks for dropping by, Marilyn. As always, it’s been wonderful visiting with you! Looking forward to No Bells–and everything else you write down the road! See you this summer at PSWA.

  2. marilynm said

    Thanks, Earl, but I’m a lot slower than I used to be, but not ready to quit, having too much fun.

  3. Marilyn, I always enjoy reading your thoughts about writing and I never cease to be amazed at all you’ve accomplished in one lifetime. Don’t ever stop doing all you do.

  4. marilynm said

    Yes, Anne, we spend far more time on promotion than writing–at least I do, but after all I went to all the troble to write the book, I sure want people to read it.

  5. Anne K. Albert said

    It’s almost a trade off in a way, isn’t it Marilyn? In the past so much time was spent on the presentation to the editor, but now that time is spent online. I was fortunate NOT to have used a typewriter, but it’s not because of my age. I never seriously considered writing until I fell in love with the click-click-click of the computer keyboard. Call me lazy! 😉

  6. marilynm said

    Yep, I’m happy about all the things that have made writing easier.

  7. Great answers, Marilyn, and Madeline’s questions were definitely thought provoking. I, too, remember having to use carbon paper, and the long, drawn out process for submitting a book. Ugh. : )

  8. marilynm said

    Hi, Jake. Glad you dropped by.

  9. jblinco said

    Good morning ladies. Again many thanks for your time on this tour. I learn something new everday. Reading stack is growing so keeping comments short to be ready just in case I am a lucky winner. Have added your books to my must read list in any event. Jake

  10. marilynm said

    Hi, right back at you, Madeline. So glad to be here today. Most of the changes have been great for me as a writer.

  11. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Marilyn, so glad to have you back! Love your post–I remember carbon paper too! Boy, has the world changes. Looking forward to a good day!

    Madeline

Leave a Reply

