A Blog Tour Welcome to Anne K. Albert

April 27, 2012

Anne, so glad to be visiting with you again. I know you’ve done a lot of tours, and with your guidance, I’m beginning to feel like a pro! And thank you for so thoughtfully answering my questions…

Anne K. Albert

Anne K. Albert’s award winning stories chill the spine, warm the heart and soothe the soul…all with a delightful touch of humor. A member of Romance Writers of America, Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and married to her high school sweetheart for more than a quarter of a century, it’s a given she’d write mystery and romantic suspense. When not writing she loves to travel, visit friends and family, and of course, read using ‘Threegio’ her cherished and much beloved Kindle 3G!

Challenges – Self-confidence has always been my Achilles heel. I first recognized it as a problem when the guest speaker at a writer’s workshop stated it’s natural for a writer to be her number one fan. Everyone else in the audience clapped and applauded that statement.Me? I realized I was my greatest and most ardent critic! Even when my stories placed in the top three or won a writing contest, I’d rationalize there were so few entries that my story was simply the best of the worst!That changed during the summer of 2009. It was taking me forever to read a book written by a well known author (who shall remain nameless). I didn’t care about the protagonist. The author’s use of language pulled me out of the story. Reading was work. Finally, frustrated and annoyed, I tossed the book aside and vowed not to read another word.

“I can write better than that,” I said. While I’d muttered that before, I realized this time I meant every word. I could write a better story. In fact, I’d written five. But where were they? Collecting dust in my home office.

I polished them until they shone, and resubmitted. Two months later, I had a publishing contract.

Has my self confidence soared? A little. The truth is I’ll never be an ego-maniac, but I’ve come to appreciate my talent. When FRANK, INCENSE AND MURIEL, first book of my Muriel Reeves Mysteries, received the 2011 Holt Medallion Award of Merit, I had to face the reality that perhaps I was indeed a writer!

All joking aside, here’s the story blurb:

FRANK, INCENSE AND MURIEL is set the week before Christmas when the stress of the holidays is enough to frazzle anyone’s nerves. Tensions increase when a friend begs Muriel to team up with a sexy private investigator to find a missing woman. Forced to deal with an embezzler, kidnapper, and femme fatale is bad enough, but add Muriel’s zany yet loveable family to the mix and their desire to win the coveted D-DAY (Death Defying Act of the Year) Award, and the situation can only get worse.

On the horizon – More than anything, I want to find a happy medium between online self promotion and actual writing time. I failed to meet my goal of releasing one book per year in 2011, and I’m determined 2012 will not end in a similar fashion! So, when the Mystery We Write blog tour ends, I’m hunkering down and focusing on completing the next book of the Piedmont Island Trilogy series. Next, I’ll begin work on book two of the Muriel Reeves Mysteries.

Satisfaction – Besides the rush that happens during the actual writing process, when everything flows and is smooth as silk, I enjoy meeting people. Whether in person or online, I’ve gotten to know some fascinating individuals since the publication of my first book. They’ve enriched my life in countless ways, and I’m very grateful for this incredible opportunity.

Frank, Incense, and Muriel

Thanks so much, Madeline. It’s always a pleasure touring with you!

Anne’s website: www.AnneKAlbert.com. Blog: http://anne-k-albert.blogspot.com, and purchase Anne’s book on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Frank-Incense-and-Muriel-ebook/dp/B004CLYDRO/

I’d like to remind readers I’m giving away an e-copy of FRANK, INCENSE AND MURIEL at the conclusion of the Mystery We Write tour. Leave a comment to automatically be entered in the draw. The winner will be announced April 28 at http://anne-k-albert.blogspot.com.

________________________________

Buster will also be selecting winners of three of my latest at the end of our tour.

Thank you, Anne, for Visiting!


9 Responses to “A Blog Tour Welcome to Anne K. Albert”

  1. Anne K. Albert said

    Jean, Jackie, and Marja, thank you for the kind words! Hearing (and reading) positive comments from such talented authors I respect and love helps banish that inner critique.

    It’s taken a while, but I’ve learned to embrace the way I write and recognize that while I may not be aware of how the story will unfold, it will progress as it should!

    As for organizing the Mystery We Write blog tours, hey, I’ll do whatever it takes to hang out with you lovely ladies! ANYTHING! 🙂

  2. mmgornell said

    Thank you, Anne, for a wonderful visit, and another successful blog tour. Sure has been fun being on the bus with you!

  3. Anne, you should have plenty of self-confidence by now. Your work is first rate. I share your struggle to balance book promotions with actual writing. It’s a never ending merry-go-round.

  4. Anne, I enjoyed your post very much. Some of the most gifted writers I know are very critical of their own work. Now I can add you to that list.

  5. Anne, I truly appreciate your humble attitude. I also appreciate your generosity in setting up the two blog tours I’ve participated in. And, most of all, I loooove your writing!

  6. Anne K. Albert said

    I’m certain of a great day in the Mojave, Madeline, because it’s spent with you! Thanks for hosting me today and being such a gracious host. 🙂

  7. Anne K. Albert said

    Thanks, Jake, for the kind words, and being such a faithful follower during this segment of the Mystery We Write blog tour. It means the world, not just to me, but every author on the bus!

  8. jblinco said

    Your own best critic seems to have been a good trait for your writing. Appreciate learning about you & your books. Looking forward to reading your writings. Thank you both for your time on tour.Jake

  9. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Anne, and welcome to the Mojave! The wind is up a little this morning, but I know we’ll still have a good day.

Leave a Reply

