Welcome: W.S. Gager

November 27, 2012

A little about Wendy…

skip
So pleased Wendy is visiting today! I love her writing and Mitch Malone–who, by the way interrogates my dear Margot Madison-Cross on her blog December 9th! Mitch is such a great character…
skip

W.S. Gager

Award winning mystery author W.S. Gager has lived in Michigan for most of her life except when she was interviewing race car drivers or professional woman’s golfers. She enjoyed the fast-paced life of a newspaper reporter until deciding to settle down and realized babies didn’t adapt well to running down story details on deadline. Since then she honed her skills on other forms of writing before deciding to do what she always wanted with her life and that was to write mystery novels. Her main character is Mitch Malone who is an edgy crime-beat reporter always on the hunt for the next Pulitzer and won’t let anyone stop him. Her third book, A CASE OF HOMETOWN BLUES, was a finalist in the 2012 Daphne Du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. A CASE OF VOLATILE DEEDS, her fourth in the Mitch series will be out this February.
skip
skip

Getting High On Typing

I’m not a runner. Never have been and never hope to be. I’ve tried it and waited for that “runners high” that people tell me they get from pounding the pavement. The only thing I’ve ever gotten from running was pain and skinned knees when I tripped over uneven trails. What does that have to do with writing? I get a writer’s high when all the plot line and character pieces fall into place.I can’t explain it except in the same context of a runner’s feeling. Don’t get me wrong. Writing is a lot of work, sweat, self-loathing and long stretches of the delete key. I struggle for hours and sometimes days over a single chapter, re-writing and writing some more. The feeling of hopelessness sets in and about the time you are ready to give up, something happens. Everything clicks and my fingers begin to fly over the keyboard. That loose end from chapter three is cleaned up, a clue is planted that goes with the end and a little misdirection ties it all together. You pause at the end and can’t help but smile. It’s good. It’s more than good, it’s just what was needed to move the plot along and makes perfect sense.That is the reason I write. Those little moments of “high” in hours of heartache. Okay maybe not chest pains but certainly back and neck muscle twinges. I can’t explain it but just the hope that it will happen again keeps me coming back to the keyboard day after day. That’s why I enjoy writing the first draft so much. The first writing is where I get the most satisfaction. I never have a good outline. Just a beginning and ending in my head and usually I change the ending. Somewhere in the middle, the magic starts, clues are laid, bodies are found and my hero, Mitch Malone, must piece it all together. What makes you keep putting the pen to the paper? Do you ever get the warm feeling after you have written something?

(YES! And if you haven’t met Mitch yet…)

skip

A Case of Hometown Blues
By W. S. Gager

 “A Case of Hometown Blues” Synopsis
When Pulitzer-winning reporter Mitch Malone’s editor presses him for a favor, Malone breaks his vow to never return to his hometown. It seemed simple enough–lead a seminar for Flatville, MI’s newspaper, keep a low profile and get back to the city post haste. But memories of his parents’ death swarm him, and, to avoid solitude, he stops for a beer. In the crowded bar, Mitch is dismayed to see many of his former classmates–including the still-lovely Homecoming Queen, Trudy. Once the object of his teenage crush, Trudy joins Mitch. He quickly realizes she is upset and inebriated. Always the gentleman, Mitch sees her safely home, and returns to his B&B, still trying to shake memories of his parents’ sad demise. The next day, he is stunned to learn Trudy was murdered and he is the prime suspect. The locals treat the murder charge as a slam dunk, and Mitch realizes he must track down the real killer to keep his butt out of jail. As he investigates, facts he thought he knew about his family unravel, and danger ratchets up. Can Mitch discover the truth that will allow his parents to rest in peace, or will he be resting with them? A Case of Hometown Blues: http://www.amazon.com/Case-Hometown-Blues-W-Gager/dp/1610090179/ref=la_B003U5OADU_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1351125657&sr=1-3
skip
And great news from Wendy, there’s more Mitch Malone coming soon…
skip

“A CASE OF VOLATILE DEEDS”
Mitch finally scores a weekend dinner with a cute receptionist, but true to his reporter instincts an explosion in a high rise office building makes him stand up his date as he runs for an exclusive.  When he investigates, he learns his date is the only casualty in a botched robbery at a real estate office. When femme fatale Patrenka Petersen returns, Mitch learns that much of what he knows about his date and her work aren’t what they seem. His world continues to twist when the police captain asks for his help and a city hall informant is found floating in the river. Mitch must keep his head down or a cute dog with a knack for finding dead bodies will be sniffing out his corpse.s
kip

A final word (enticement!) from Wendy

W.S. Gager will be giving away a single copy of each of the first three books in the Mitch Malone Mystery series: A CASE OF INFATUATION, A CASE OF ACCIDENTAL INTERSECTION, and A CASE OF HOMETOWN BLUES from comments made on her blog: http://wsgager.blogspot.com or on her guest blogs from the Murder We Write Mystery Tour.

_______________________________________

Thank you so much, Wendy, for visiting today and sharing your “typing” (smile) thoughts! Loved it…

AND – Don’t forget Buster, Dobie, and Mugs (the latest) are each drawing a name from comments for free copies of Lies of Convenience (or a M.M. Gornell title of your choosing)

27 Responses to “Welcome: W.S. Gager”

  1. W.S. Gager said

    Cindy: I certainly hope you enjoy Mitch Malone and his hunt for the exclusive story that gets him in all kinds of trouble. Good luck winning one of the Mitch Malone Mysteries.
    Wendy

  2. W.S. Gager said

    Collin and Larissa: thanks for stopping by. It is great getting to know each other’s work.
    Wendy

  3. W.S. Gager said

    Gayle: Going home is never easy but often has great rewards! Thanks for visiting!
    Wendy

  4. I’m not a runner either. Getting high on typing is my kind of exercise! Great post.

  5. CindyDavis said

    Good morning all. This is my first introduction to your stories, Wendy. Can’t wait to see what all the excitement’s about.

  6. mmgornell said

    What a great day we’ve had today! I do hope you can hang out one more day, Wendy, even though it means hanging out at two places! Charmaine can’t make it, but we wish her the very best, and send good thoughts and well wishes her way. Hope your internet gets up and running! These things seem to happen at the most inopportune times…

    Madeline

  7. So many books to read! Looking forward to yours Wendy!

  8. Wendy, There is something so universal about going back to your hometown. That bitter-sweet feeling should make for a good background for your story. All the best.

  9. W.S. Gager said

    Jake: Thanks for posting twice. I hope you will be reading another Mitch adventure very soon!
    Wendy

  10. W.S. Gager said

    John: Getting high with Hometown Blues is high praise from you. THANKS! I’m so glad you could stop by!
    Wendy

  11. W.S. Gager said

    Morgan: Thanks so much for stopping by. I have had lots of fun and excitement in my life but writing gives me the most pleasure.
    Wendy

  12. W.S. Gager said

    Evelyn, Marja and Jean: Thank you so much for stopping by. You know writing is adicting!
    Wendy

  13. W.S. Gager said

    Collen: Thank you so much. I hope you win a book and get a chance to curl up. Mitch is a bit prickly at first but he grows on you!
    Wendy

  14. W.S. Gager said

    Marilyn: We have to write for the high, because we aren’t getting rich!
    Wendy

  15. W.S. Gager said

    Joyce: Thank you so much for stopping buy. You are definitely an early riser!
    Wendy

  16. W.S. Gager said

    Madeline: My apologies for not getting in here sooner. My Internet is down, again. Good news is the repairman will be here tomorrow! Thank you so much for having me here. This was such fun to write. I will just have to be content with awriting high although my imagination I’ve just completed a marathon!
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  17. Jake said

    Not sure why comment did not take just wanted to say great blog

  18. Jake said

    Excellent interview. Looking forward to reading more of your novels.

  19. Wendy, writing gets me high, too. In fact, writing gets me higher than (almost) anything I do. (I won’t elaborate on what I mean by “almost.”) And it’s a pleasure to know when you’re doing your best you’re giving entertainment to others. By the way, I got high reading “Hometown Blues.”

  20. I know exactly what you mean about those highs and lows when writing, Wendy! I get them all.
    Sounds like you led quite an exciting life before writing books.
    Good for you!

    Morgan Mandel
    http://www.morganmandel.com

  21. Mitch Malone is one of my favorite characters. Can’t wait to read your next book. And, yes, I understand that “high”. However, I wouldn’t have any idea what the running “high” feels like. : )

  22. Great post, Wendy, and my sentiments exactly. I enjoy writing but it’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. (I’m not a runner, either. I walk instead.)

  23. I’ve loved all the Mitch Malone novels, and I’m looking forward to reading, “A Case of Volatile Deeds”.

  24. Wendy,
    Your books sound appealing and just the sort of thing I’d like to curl up with after a long day of work. I especially relate to your writers high. I’d rather write for my high, too.

  25. Hi, Wendy. I know exactly what you mean about that “high” when you’re writing.

  26. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Wendy! What a pleasure having you visiting today. Looking forward to a wonderful tour day. And, good morning, Joyce, thanks for stopping by first thing this morning!

    Madeline

  27. A Case of the Hometown Blues looks great, Wendy!

Leave a Reply

