Welcome: Evelyn Cullet

November 29, 2012

A little about Evelyn …Whom I’m Also Meeting on Our Blog Tour…

Author Evelyn Cullet

Evelyn Cullet has been an aspiring author since high school when she wrote short stories, but she didn’t begin her first novel until college, later in life. Afterward, she continued to take writing classes and work on her novels while employed by a major soft drink company. Now, after early retirement, she finally has the chance to write full-time.

Evelyn enjoys playing the piano, being an organic gardener, and an amateur Lapidary. She and her husband live in a suburb of Chicago. She writes mystery romance and romantic suspense.

What Evelyn Likes About the Writing Life

Every novel started out as idea in a writer’s mind. With ideas comes creation. And creation is what I enjoy most about being a writer. New ideas for stories, the drama, the humor, new characters, new settings, all of it. Choosing the protagonist, the hero, the victim(s) and the villain(s). Spending quality time with my subconscious manifestations and bringing them to life. Sure, the characters don’t actually exist – but for writers like me, they do and in deeper ways then the people I know in real life. Being able to shape the world with my thoughts and the unquestioned power of my own creations is one of the greatest joys of being a fiction writer for me. It’s knowing the “whys and hows” of everything. Why an event happens, how it happens; why the character(s) take a certain course of action, how they go about solving a crime; and why would a reader care? The fun of it is working out a storyline, and having the characters say and do things I would never have the guts to say or do. All I need to do is pose a few questions, and whomever the character is that I’m asking, will give me the answers, usually in dialog form. I’m not saying that sometimes I don’t have to do research in the real world to find the reasons behind peoples actions, because they’re so often hidden by layers of defense. It seems to be a reflex from childhood; no one wants to get found out and have to pay the price for their actions. But in fiction, the world we create is an open book, and character’s cannot hide, they will always be found out in the end.

I enjoy meeting and getting to know other writers. Spending too much time alone has its drawbacks. Isolation saps inspiration – I need contact to learn, to grow and to recharge my batteries. Only other writers can truly understand the trials and joys of writing. And that’s why I’m so happy to be a part of this blog tour.

Masterpiece of Murder
by Evelyn Cullet

Evelyn’s latest novel is MASTERPIECE OF MURDER, a fast-paced romantic suspense story that takes you on a madcap adventure to the beautiful resort city of Barioche, Argentina, where a broken-hearted art student, Charlotte Ross, is intent on locating her errant fiancé. But her fiancé has his own reason for being in Bariloche–he’s after a stolen art masterpiece–that complicates Charlotte’s life and threatens her very existence as she stumbles into a downward spiral of deception, art forgery, and murder. When Charlotte accidently finds the murder victim, circumstantial evidence begins to mount up against her and the local police suspect she is the killer. Now she must use the skills she learned from her mystery writer friend, along with the help of two fellow art students, to discover who is really behind the murder. Not an easy task with a military police officer dogging her every step.

MASTERPIECE OF MURDER is available in print and ebook from the publisher at:  http://www.wings-press.com/ and from Amazon:http://tinyurl.com/9jjl5xc Also available as an ebook for the Nook from Barnes & Noble:  http://tinyurl.com/9uyqj5r

A final word (enticement!) from Evelyn

We would love to hear from you, so please leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in my free book giveaway. You could win a signed print copy of Masterpiece of Murder. One lucky winner will be chosen at random and announced on my blog, http://evelyncullet.com/blog/ on December 11th. Don’t forget to leave your email address so I’ll know how to contact you. And if you’d like to learn more about Bariloche, the stolen art masterpiece, or to see photos of the locations mentioned in the novel, I invite you to visit the photo page on my website: http://evelyncullet.com/

_______________________________________

AND – Don’t forget Buster, Dobie, and Mugs (the latest) are each drawing a name from comments for free copies of Lies of Convenience (or a M.M. Gornell title of your choosing)

13 Responses to “Welcome: Evelyn Cullet”

  1. Katie Johnson said

    Enjoyed your post and reading about Eveyln’s latest novel.
    Katie Johnson (johnsonk133@yahoo.com)

  2. What I like about writing?? Reading other authors work!! LOL!
    No, in truth, I find a great escape in both reading and writing!
    It helps me cope.

  3. I’m getting ready to submit another manuscript to my publisher soon, Marja. Stressing out a little, biting my nails,and hoping for the best…(Sigh!).

  4. Evelyn, I’m so glad you became involved in the tour! I’ve truly enjoyed reading your books and I’m waiting for the next one. So hurry up, already. : )

  5. I agree, blog touring is a great way to get to know fellow writers and to be introduced to their books.

  6. I’m having a great time on this blog tour. it’s so nice to get acquainted with so may talented authors and their novels.

  7. Jake said

    Like your style & have you on TBR soon list. Enjoying following your tour for which I thank you both.

  8. Evelyn, I’ve so enjoyed learning more about you! This is what is so much fun about blog tours, not only finding out about intriguing new titles, but meeting the authors too.

  9. Love getting to know other writers too. Only they know what it’s like to be a writer and have all the voices in your head. 🙂

  10. Evelyn,
    When you wrote “it’s knowing the whys and hows of everything,” you expressed exactly how I feel about writing fiction. In real life, things happen and people say and do things we’ll never understand. We have to accept that. Not so in fiction.

  11. It’s nice to meet two wonderful authors like you, Madeline and Joyce. I’m looking forward to reading your novels.

  12. mmgornell said

    As Joyce says, so nice meeting you on this tour, Evelyn. And welcome to my blog and the Mojave. We have the promise of a beautiful day out here and looking forward to our visit!

    Madeline

  13. It was so nice to meet you on this blog tour,evelyn!

Leave a Reply

