Welcome: S. R. Claridge

November 30, 2012

A little about Susan…Whom I’m Also Meeting on Our Blog Tour…

Susan Claridge

My name is Susan Claridge and I write under the name, S.R.Claridge. I’m a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, a niece, an in-law and friend; but no matter what hat I wear, I’m always the same simply, complicated woman beneath. I love autumn,
moonlight and Grey Goose Vodka martinis with bleu cheese olives. I believe Friday nights were made for Mexican food and margaritas and Sunday mornings
warrant an extra-spicy Bloody Mary. I love Jesus and know that any good in me comes from God. I believe in the power of prayer, in the freedom of forgiveness and that people can change. I have a terrible temper and a tender heart, and somehow they balance. At times I may appear teetering on the edge, but I’d rather walk dangerously where there’s a view than let life pass me by. Relationships intrigue me and so does the loyalty of Mafia families, which is why I chose these topics for my novels.

What I Love About Writing

Writing has been a part of my life since I was thirteen years old.  My grandmother passed away, and since she was the first loved one I had ever lost, I was unable to process the sadness I felt.  I had never experienced that amount of heartache, and so, at such a young age, didn’t know how to communicate what I was feeling.  Out of heartbreak, I turned to writing, crafting a poem about her and how much she was missed.   One might say that through her death, a writer was born.

I wrote my way through high school and college, pouring out every emotion on the pages of journal after journal.  I graduated college with a degree in Psychology and boxes of really awful poems…poems that are packed away in attic, hopefully never to be seen by the outside world.  Alas, as terrible as my poetry was, my heart lay open on every page, and writing was my pathway toward healing.  In my twenties I wrote lyrics, setting many of my feelings to music.  In my late thirties I began to dabble in novel writing and at the age of forty, my first book, No Easy Way, was published.  Now, two years later, I have since written six novels and one short story; and writing has morphed from emotional expression into a fun, creative outlet.   What used to be tear stained pages are now entertaining  suspense stories, wherein I strive to take readers to the edge of their seats and dangle them there for a while; twisting the plot just enough to keep them guessing until the very end.

Writing has been a way of life.  It has shaped me and matured with me.  No matter what age or stage I was in, the pen and paper brought me through it.  I thank God for that; for He is the one who gave me the gift of writing….a gift I consider precious…and will forever be grateful.

Now, as a wife and a mother, writing isn’t always easy, but the best things in life never are.  It takes sacrifice and commitment to complete a novel.  It takes determination to press forward when you don’t feel like it, or the words aren’t flowing.  BUT…the fulfillment upon completing each novel makes those sleepless nights of late night writing well worth the while; and hearing that readers enjoy my stories is one of the greatest feelings.  When I see my kids writing stories of their own because they want to “write like mommy,” I beam with joy.  For me, writing isn’t just a career; it’s a way of life.  It is solace and adventure all rolled into one.

Here’s a List of Susan’s Books, and Some of her Covers

No Easy Way  (debut novel; nominated for The Molly Award from the HODRW 2010)

Tetterbaum’s Truth (book 1 in the Just Call Me Angel series)

Traitors Among Us (book 2 in the Just Call Me Angel series)

Russian Uprising (book 3 in the Just Call Me Angel series)

Death Trap (book 4 in the Just Call Me Angel series)

Petals of Blood (short story; Pushcart Prize Nomination 2013)

And Susan’s upcoming release: House of Lies (political/cult suspense, to be released October 2012)

S. R. Claridge Books

 All S.R. Claridge novels are available in ebook and print on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and at various libraries and bookstores nationwide.

To Connect or visit with Susan…

Website:  www.AuthorSRClaridge.com

Blog:  www.FeelingTheFiction.blogspot.com

Twitter:  www.Twitter.com/SRClaridgeWrite

Facebook:  www.Facebook.com/AuthorSRClaridge

“Death Trap”  http://tinyurl.com/6w398ry

“Russian Uprising” Video Trailer http://youtu.be/_mo-a2TCt84

“Traitors Among Us” Video Trailer  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKhek2yGiU8

“Tetterbaum’s Truth” Video Trailer http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxAUn0ksn58

“No Easy Way” Video Trailer http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MeDecCjFnY

“Petals of Blood” (short story)  http://tinyurl.com/7tn3xvp

A final word (enticement!) from Susan

“I’d like to encourage readers to enter my giveaway contest. I will be giving away an ebook copy of TETTERBAUM’S TRUTH, book one in the Just Call Me Angel series; or if you’ve already read Tetterbaum’s Truth, you may select another novel of your choice and receive that e-copy instead.  Leave a comment below and you’re automatically entered. Include your email address in your comment so I can get in touch with you should your name be selected at random. The winner will be announced on my blog (http://www.FeelingTheFiction.blogspot.com ) on December 12, 2012. Good luck!”

_______________________________________

Thank you so much, Susan, for visiting today and sharing with us your positive thoughts on writing!

AND – Don’t forget Buster, Dobie, and Mugs (the latest) are each drawing a name from comments for free copies of Lies of Convenience (or a M.M. Gornell title of your choosing)!

12 Responses to “Welcome: S. R. Claridge”

  1. You sound like a fun person to know, Susan, and I share your affection for Grey Goose and bleu cheese olives! As for your passion for writing, Brava!

  2. Yes, writing is a way of life. I can’t imagine being anything else. Thanks for sharing with us.

  3. W.S. Gager said

    Writing isa great way to deal with life. It helps me deal with emotinos too. A theraphy if you will. Great post, Susan.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  4. I agree, Susan. Writing is a way of life. To succeed in this business you have dedicate your life to the craft and I think you’ve done it quite well..

  5. Love the covers too. And great thoughts about being a writer.

  6. Jake said

    Like those covers. Would like to read books from this author so added to TBR list. Interesting blog as usual.

  7. mmgornell said

    Looks like I got a slow start this morning, Susan, wanted to welcome you to the Mojave! But looks like you’ve already received a warm welcome–great having you here!

    Madeline

  8. Thank you for having me on your site today. It was fun to get to know you through the Mystery We Write tour. Have a merry Christmas and a happy holiday season. 🙂

  9. I loved reading this, Susan. It is so much fun to learn more about other writers.

  10. Susan,
    Like you, writing has been a way of life for me and, as I’ve gone through various stages in my life, my writing has changed with me. What started out as poetry became short stories and eventually novels. Again, like you, I thank God every day!

  11. This is an excellent tour, Madeline. I love the one-question approach, and I love the question you chose to ask!

  12. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on writing, Susan!

Leave a Reply

