Welcome: Anne K. Albert

December 1, 2012

A little about Anne…Our Tour Leader and a Wonderful Author…

Anne K. Albert

I”ve been on three tours now that Anne has organized. I’ve met so may new authors and had such a wonderful time. So, I’m very pleased to have Anne visiting today!

Anne K. Albert’s award winning mystery and romantic suspense stories chill the spine, warm the heart and soothe the soul…all with a delightful touch of humor. When not at the keyboard she loves to travel, walk on a beach, visit friends and family, and of course, read using ‘Threegio’ her beloved and much cherished Kindle 3G.

Thanks for featuring me today, Madeline. You asked me to answer this question: “What do you like and enjoy the most about being a writer?”

I enjoy meeting other writers…whether in person or online. Writers speak the same language. They understand how exciting and fascinating dialogue, setting, and characterization can be! They never freak out if I mention those voices in my head because they hear them, too!

Next on the list: the hours I spend in solitude. There’s something incredibly soothing about being able to shut out the real world to focus on a world that not only makes sense, but can often illustrate how to cope given any situation.

Number three: I love that I’m an organic writer and knowing that my process is uniquely mine and mine alone. I begin each story with no plot, outline, or list of characters. I have no preconceived ideas of what will happen next because I simply don’t know. I just place my fingertips on the keyboard and GO!

(I love hearing that, Anne!)

Conversely, after a few quiet days on my own I enjoy connecting with people. There is an energy that surrounds us, and at times it’s palatable. Whether these individuals inspire, provoke, enrage or motivate, I’m always curious as to why they act and say the things they do.

What else is a perk about being a writer? The e-book revolution. It allows me to share my stories with readers around the globe. Plus, I’ve discovered wonderful stories by talented authors I would likely have missed in the past when my only source of books was my local library or bookstore. Downloading a story onto my Kindle in seconds is magical! I love it.

Frank, Incense, and Muriel
By Anne K. Albert

Here’s a look at Anne’s book,  Frank, Incense and Muriel. The story takes place the week before Christmas when the stress of the holidays is enough to frazzle anyone’s nerves. Tensions increase when a friend begs Muriel to team up with a sexy private investigator to find a missing woman. Forced to deal with an embezzler, kidnapper, and femme fatale is bad enough, but add Muriel’s zany yet loveable family to the mix and their desire to win the coveted D-DAY (Death Defying Act of the Year) Award, and the situation can only get worse.

Thanks for featuring me today, Madeline.

A final word (enticement!) from Anne

Readers can enter my giveaway contest by leaving a comment. Up for grabs is an e-copy of FRANK, INCENSE AND MURIEL. The winner will be chosen at random and announced on my blog on December 12, 2012. Good luck!

Anne can be found online at: FacebookTwitterGoogle+LinkedInGoodreadsPinterestAmazon and her blog.

Thank you so much, Anne, for visiting today and sharing with us your thoughts on your writing time–and your “people” time!

_______________________________________

AND – Don’t forget Buster, Dobie, and Mugs (the latest) are each drawing a name from comments for free copies of Lies of Convenience (or a M.M. Gornell title of your choosing)

24 Responses to “Welcome: Anne K. Albert”

  1. I really enjoyed learning a little about your writing process, and I too, enjoy the solitude, but not all the time. : )

  2. leighmorgan1 said

    Wonderful insight about writing and a writer’s life. I connected with it all. I love the fact that you sit and write and let the book just flow through you. Great interview!

  3. mmgornell said

    Anne, you’ve had a great visit, I think. I sure enjoyed it! Thanks so much for stopping by.

    Madeline

  4. Thank you, fearless leader Anne! 🙂

  5. W.S. Gager said

    Anne: When I read your posts I feel like I’m looking into my own soul. Every sentence, I say, I’m like that. That says exactly how I feel. I really would love to met and talk with you over a dozen cups of tea. Someday….
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  6. It is a good read, Earl. I enjoy Anne’s work as I do yours.
    (On the road from St. George, Utah.)

  7. I agree with your ideas about writers and would like to chime in – with the thought that most writers are a combination of introvert and extravert – you have to be both or you’d go nuts! Thelma Straw in Manhattan

  8. Meeting and sharing with readers as writers is really what it’s all about, Evelyn. My suggestion to the non-mystery writers is to organize their own tour. Ask friends if they’re interested. Designate a leader, and voila…blog tour for their specific genre!

  9. I’m sorry, I meant to address Anne and Madeline, not Marilyn, although she’s been a huge part of the blog tour too.

  10. Anne and Marilyn, since I’ve been on the blog tour, I’ve been contacted by other authors who are interested in being on the next tour. Unfortunately, they weren’t all mystery authors, so I had to disappoint some of them. And Anne, I agree with you about writers speaking the same language. It seems foreign to those who are not..

  11. Oh, Mad, you know I love visiting with you, and the tour just wouldn’t be the same without your Route 66 local! Thanks for hosting me today.

  12. Hi Jackie. I tend to be a fairly upbeat, positive person and I’m glad that comes across in my writing. Thanks for dropping by!

  13. It’s true, Larissa! I may be an introvert and recluse 90% of the time, but I’ve always enjoyed meeting people one-on-one and figuring out what makes them tick. Watching them let loose and reveal their true selves, if even for a second or two, is a priceless gift. I love it!

  14. Very cute title… I’m assuming the private investigator is “Frank.” (Ha-ha) I love that it can also be a play on words, such as, is he known for his frankness? Anyway, thanks again Madeline for hosting such interesting authors and their books. I especially appreciate Anne’s joy at being a writer.

  15. mmgornell said

    Yes, Anne, love this comment! It is messy for me too. So glad to have you visiting today…

  16. How nice that number one is meeting other writers! We like meeting you, too, Anne!

  17. Ah, Marilyn. You’re too kind. Just having you along for the ride makes it all worthwhile…and EASY!

  18. I can’t speak for every author, Jake, but my thoughts ping around inside my head so fast I sometimes think they’re on steroids. My speech pattern takes on a similar pattern…much to the chagrin of my husband. I’ll ask him a series of questions, and he’s still thinking about the first question. Meanwhile, I’ve moved on, and sometimes forgotten what I asked him in the first place!

    It’s messy being an author. I think that’s why we write. And re-write. To get it straight!

  19. Anne is a marvelous and smart woman (after all she did figure out this most complicated blog tour–by most of all, she’s a great writer too.

  20. Jake said

    Buster, Dobie & Mugs great blog from your human & visitor. Looking forward to seeing some photos. Thank you for blog today. Always enjoy knowing what authors are thinking.

  21. Your welcome, Joyce. But to be fair, I simply approached Marilyn Meredith and asked if she’d be interested in doing a tour together. She said yes, and from there we spread the word. I doubt the tour would have gotten off the ground if not for Marilyn’s infectious energy!

  22. Thanks, Earl. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. And thanks for driving the bus for this, and past blog tours. It’s always fun with you at the helm!

  23. Anne, I love your attitude about writing and the world in general. I have FRANK, INCENSE AND MURIEL and look forward to a good read.

  24. Thanks for getting the idea for the blog tour, Anne!

Leave a Reply

