Welcome: Larissa Reinhart

December 3, 2012

A little about Larissa …

Author Larissa Reinhart

Larissa began her writing career in second grade when she sold her first publication to a neighbor for a nickel. After moving around the Midwest, Japan, and the South, she now lives in Georgia with her husband, daughters, and Biscuit, a Cairn Terrier. She loves small town characters with big attitudes, particularly sassy women with a penchant for trouble. PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY is a 2012 Daphne du Maurier finalist, a 2012 The Emily finalist, and a 2011 Dixie Kane Memorial winner. STILL LIFE IN BRUNSWICK STEW, A Cherry Tucker Mystery #2, releases in May 2013.

You can find Larissa chatting on Facebook; Twitter; and Goodreads. She loves pinning on Pinterest. You can also find more information on her website at http://www.larissareinhart.com.

The Best Part of the Writing Life: Readers

Before I became a writer, I imagined writers spent most of their day as recluses, typing away at their computer or typewriter, with the occasional flight to New York to meet with their editor and agent. My imagination was limited by authors portrayed in movies and books. That sounded great to me. I’d get to live in my little fantasy world with a fun trip to New York every once in a while.

Now I know the writing life does mean spending most of my day in my house, typing away at the computer, but much of the typing is done on emails, blogs, and Facebook. It’s a very social seclusion. I’ve yet to meet my editor, and she’s not in New York anyway. However, I’m perfectly content to communicate with her by email, because that means I can wear my Packers t-shirt and my comfy yoga pants and not shower. Which is why I don’t support video chat.

Now that I’ve experienced the true life of a writer — marketing, marathon editing sessions, and leftovers for dinner — what is it that I enjoy the most? I certainly gain great satisfaction in the writing itself, the magical discovery of how characters think and react in given situations. I spend a lot of time thinking about the characters and stories and derive great joy from the Aha! moments when the pieces start to fall together.

One of the more surprising pleasures I’ve had since becoming a writer is the friendships I’ve gained with other writers. I might not leave my house much, but I think I’ve become more social. My husband can’t believe it. I giggle a lot when reading my emails and snigger as I chat on Twitter. I have literal LOLs.

But probably the most unexpected pleasure I get from writing is from the readers. I am touched when readers send me personal messages about parts of PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY they are reading. I even like it when they argue with the choices Cherry Tucker makes in the book. I love hearing readers’ interpretations of the characters and their motivations. I find it fascinating when my mother’s friends tell me which of the three men in my book they think is the sexiest.

Having a connection with readers is amazing. I’ve always loved chatting about books. Chatting about a book I know intimately is a special kind of pleasure. And having people who like something I wrote, who like characters like Cherry Tucker, is the best feeling in the world. So, I am flabbergasted to say that for me, the best part about writing is socializing.

Portrait of a Dead Guy
by Larissa Reinhart

In Halo, Georgia, folks know Cherry Tucker as big in mouth, small in stature, and able to sketch a portrait faster than buckshot rips from a ten gauge — but commissions are scarce. So when the well-heeled Branson family wants to memorialize their murdered son in a coffin portrait, Cherry scrambles to win their patronage from her small town rival.

As the clock ticks toward the deadline, Cherry faces more trouble than just a controversial subject. Her rival wants to ruin her reputation, her ex-flame wants to rekindle the fire, and someone’s setting her up to take the fall. Mix in her flaky family, an illegal gambling ring, and outwitting a killer on a spree, Cherry finds herself painted into a corner she’ll be lucky to survive.

Larissa’s Book is Available at:

Amazon Kindle     B&N Nook     Kobo

Amazon Paperback     B&N Paperback  Amazon Kindle

A final word (enticement!) from Larissa

I’d like to encourage readers to enter my giveaway contest. Up for grabs is an e-copy of PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY, book one of the Cherry Tucker Mystery Series. Leave a comment and you’re automatically entered. Include your email addy so I can get in touch with you should your name be selected at random. The winner will be announced on my blog (http://theexpatreturneth.blogspot.com/) on December 11, 2012. Good luck!

_______________________________________

Thank you so much, Larissa, for visiting today and sharing with us your thoughts on connecting with readers!

AND – Don’t forget Buster, Dobie, and Mugs (the latest) are each drawing a name from comments for free copies of Lies of Convenience (or a M.M. Gornell title of your choosing)

17 Responses to “Welcome: Larissa Reinhart”

  1. We recently did an interview with Larissa as well! Come check it out at MoreThanAReview.com if you want do some more internet author stalking 😉

  2. When she’s not writing about southern fried chicken, she writes about Asian fried chicken at her blog about life as an ex-expat at theexpatreturneth.blogspot.com . You can find Larissa chatting on Facebook ; Twitter ; and Goodreads . You can also find more information on her website at larissareinhart.com .

  3. I think that is the best part of all the social media today; you can constantly be interacting with others. I love this blog Larissa and getting to learn you a little more, I can definitely say that I also have literal LOL moments while staring at a computer. I also love PORTRAIT and cannot wait for the next book to come out!

    Julie Gallo
    Editorial Intern
    Henery Press

  4. I’ve met some of my best friends through writing. I like to make time to socialize and write. 🙂

  5. Borrow away, Anne! Happy to share!

  6. Great post, Larissa. Your phrase “social seclusion” is a perfect way to describe the life of a writer. I may just have to borrow it!

  7. Thanks Marja & Marilyn! Nothing makes me smile more than to hear someone enjoyed my book.

  8. Larissa, You said it so well! Readers make it all worth it, and so do the friendships made through our efforts. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Loved what you said. I love being a writer too and the friends I’ve made as well as all the readers along the way.

  10. Thanks Jake & Cheryl! Good luck to you both!

  11. Cheryl said

    Great blog ladies. Really enjoy learning about writing. Still hoping to win a copy of PORTRAIT OF A DEAD GUY.

  12. Jake said

    As a reader I appreciate your efforts. With all books being written these days I find your tour participants among best & most interesting.

  13. mmgornell said

    Good morning, everyone! And welcome, Larissa. Yes, this is interesting, we’re both visiting each other. The wonders of the internet. Looks like we’re going to have a good day, and I’m really looking forward to getting to know you better.

    Madeline

  14. Thanks so much everyone! And thanks for having me on, Madeline! We’re sharing blogs today, how fun!

    Now the hardest part about writing for me is making myself stay off of social media and not chat! My husband can’t believe it.

  15. Great blog, Larissa! Enjoyed reading about you and your work.

  16. The life of a writer isn’t very glamorous, is it? But I’m so glad you decided to write Portrait. Cherry and her gang are so much fun! Congrats on a great book and I can’t wait to read the next one!

  17. Well said, Larissa. I have to agree that communication with readers is a very special thing for writers. After all, they’re who we’re doing it for.

Leave a Reply

