Welcome: Marilyn Meredith

December 5, 2012

Always a pleasure having Marilyn visiting…

Marilyn Meredith

Marilyn Meredith is the author of over thirty published novels, including the award winning Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery series, the latest Raging Water from Mundania Press. Writing as F. M. Meredith, her latest Rocky Bluff P.D. crime novel is No Bells  from Oak Tree Press.

Marilyn is a member of EPIC, Four chapters of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. Visit her at http://fictionforyou.com and her blog at http://marilymeredith.blogspot.com/

The Most Pleasure Gained from My Writing Life

Making friends along the way is what has given me the most pleasure from my writing life. In the beginning it was the people from my first critique group—and one in particular, a writer named Willma Gore. She taught me so much about writing, more than I ever learned from anyone or anywhere else. We also had a lot of fun together, including going to writers meetings and conferences together. We are still friends and hubby and traveled to Sedona, AZ for the celebration of her 90th birthday.

I belong to that same critique group though many of the members have changed. Each one has brought a new prospective to my writing process and become a good friend. My latest books have mentioned each of them on the dedication page.

I met both of my publishers at writing conferences. Billie Johnson, who is the publisher at Oak Tree Press, I met at the Public Safety Writers Association’s conference and she has also become a good friend. I always look forward to seeing her at various venues and we correspond via email.

Author Lorna Collins is another writer I met at a conference and has become a good friend. My hubby and I spent a fun weekend with Lorna and her hubby in their beautiful home. Though she’s almost young enough to be my daughter, we share the same birthday.

I’ve had a great time and become good friends with other writers at conferences. Gay Kinman and I have been roommates several times in Washington, New York and San Francisco, and hubby and I have enjoyed her and her husband’s hospitality.

So many of my writer friends I met at mystery cons, Radine Trees Nehring is one. Along with her husband and mine, we’ve shared some fun times and great meals and lots and lots of conversations.

All of my friends in the San Joaquin chapter of Sisters in Crime and those in the Central Coast chapter are precious to me for many different reasons. I’m not going to name them all because I might leave one of them out.

Two Friends

Before I forget, I have to mention Madeline Gornell. I met her for the first time at a book fair, then at two different writers conferences. Since that time we’ve become the best of friends. When we roomed together in Sacramento it was like being at a slumber party every night, oh how we gabbed and giggled.

(Oh yes, believe it or not, I’m a giggler, and Marilyn was such a delightful roommate!)

And then there are the readers who have become friends: Sara Weiss and her mom Benay who live in Texas, Katina Stewart and her whole family who live in Anchorage, Pat Jones of San Francisco, and so many more. If I listed everyone this blog would be way too long.

Oh, and I can’t leave out the friends I’ve met on the Internet, many I’ve never seen in person but I enjoy them so much—and some are on this blog tour.

Sometimes writing itself isn’t such a pleasure because it is work, work I love, but still work. It is truly all the friends I’ve met along the way that are the real pleasure.

Raging Water Blurb: Deputy Tempe Crabtree’s investigation of the murder of two close friends is complicated when relentless rain turns Bear Creek into a raging river. Homes are inundated and a mud slide blocks the only road out of Bear Creek stranding many—including the murderer.

Raging Water
by Marilyn Meredith

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_1_12?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=raging+water+by+marilyn+meredith&sprefix=Raging+Water%2Cstripbooks%2C365

I know there are some people who like to read a series in order, but let me reassure you that every book is complete. Though the characters grow through each book, the crime is always solved. . Here is the order of the books for anyone who wants to know: Deadly Trail, Deadly Omen, Unequally Yoked, Intervention, Wing Beat, Calling the Dead, Judgment Fire, Kindred Spirits, Dispel the Mist, Invisible Path, Bears With Us, Raging Water.

Do enter my giveaway contest for a copy of the previous Deputy Tempe Crabtree mystery, BEARS WITH US. Leave a comment and you’re automatically entered. Include your email addy so I can get in touch with you should your name be selected at random. The winner will be announced on my blog (http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com) on December 12, 2012. Good luck!

__________________________________

AND – Don’t forget Buster, Dobie, and Mugs (the latest) are each drawing a name from comments for free copies of Lies of Convenience (or a M.M. Gornell title of your choosing)!

16 Responses to “Welcome: Marilyn Meredith”

  1. Great post. Writers conferences are fun!

  2. I’m with you, Marilyn. Most of my friends are writers, both in person and on line. We’re a strange lot, those of us who write, and people who don’t write just don’t get it.

  3. Thanks everyone for stopping by and chatting. I wish I could have put down the name of everyone I’ve met along the way and now consider my friend.

  4. The writing world really is a close-knit group. We all have or are going through the same things and it’s nice to know we aren’t alone in our efforts. This was a nice tribute to some of the friends Marilyn met along her journey.

  5. What a great post! Some of my closest friends are women I met because of writing. Great place to be!

  6. mmgornell said

    Thanks for stopping by to meet Marilyn, Michael! If your comment about moving is directed to me about the Mojave–it would be a big change from your Massachusetts(hope I’m remembering correctly) environment. (there’s a lot of abandoned everything out here)!

  7. Great post, Marilyn. I agree about making friends. I know I’ve met and befriended some wonderful writers and readers at conferences and online. And I hope you’ll consider me one of the new friends you’ve made on this tour.

  8. mecantone said

    Hey,
    are there any of those abandoned mobile homes vacant out there that you write about? All I have are pictures and memories and think I’m ready for the desert.

  9. I’d love to head back to your neck-of-the woods, Jake. Maybe after the next RBPD books comes out with the character named Jake. And Patirica, you are one of my friends I’ve made online.

  10. Jake said

    Hope you will be coming to our area in the not too distant future. Bring all your friends for a giant slumber & giggle party. Fun blog made my day.

  11. Marilyn,
    I feel the same way. I’ve met some great people in person but I’ve also made some wonderful friends online. The best part of the writing life!

  12. You folks get up even earlier than I do! Thank you Larissa, Kitty and Joyce for stopping by. And Madeline, it’s always a joy to visit with you whether it be in person or on this magical way.

  13. Enjoyed your post! Friends definitely making writing fun!

  14. Marilyn–I enjoyed your comments and the glimpse of the life, times and encounters you have enjoyed as a writer. I look forward to reading one of your books!

  15. mmgornell said

    Welcome, Marilyn! Always nice visiting with a friend, and like your thoughts regarding all the friends you’ve made. Sure you’ll have a great day out here in the desert today. For Winter, the weather is very nice.

    Madeline

  16. Hi Marilyn! I enjoyed your post!

Leave a Reply

