Welcome: Joyce Lavene

December 7, 2012

I’m meeting Joyce for the first time on this tour. Thank you so much for stopping by and getting acquainted!

Joyce Lavene

Joyce Lavene writes bestselling mystery with her husband/partner Jim. They have written and published more than 60 novels for Harlequin, Berkley and Charter Books along with hundreds of non-fiction articles for national and regional publications. She lives in rural North Carolina with her family, her cat, Quincy, and her rescue dog, Rudi. Visit her at www.joyceandjimlavene.com, Facebook/JoyceandJimLavene.com. Twitter: @authorjlavene, http://romanceofmystery.blogspot.com.

What I like most about being a writer

I think the thing I like most about being a writer is being able to live in a world of my choosing. I get to choose the people who populate that world, good and bad. Most of the time, they do what I tell them to do. When they don’t, that’s my fault too. Usually, it’s because one of them suddenly shines, and I can’t stand to let them go.

I enjoy writing the rough draft, finding out what the story is about, figuring out what I have to do next. I’m not crazy about edits, but I work with them. I love lying in bed at night, thinking about my characters and the next book I plan to write. Knowing that these are dreams that will come true makes them all the sweeter!

I love being with other writers, too. I’ve never known a better group of people. They are interesting, funny and understand when I’ve had a bad edit experience or that my book is coming out late. They know the same disappointments and victories.

It’s the best job I’ve ever had, the best business I’ve ever started. I can’t wait to get up in the morning and work each day. I love being a writer!

A Haunting Dream

space

The mayor of Duck, North Carolina, Dae O’Donnell, is a woman with a gift for finding lost things. When her boyfriend Kevin’s ex-fiancée Ann arrives in Duck looking for a second chance, Dae suddenly finds herself facing certain heartache. And while her romantic life is in shambles, she’s even more concerned by the sudden change in her gift. After touching a medallion owned by a local named Chuck Sparks, Dae is shocked when her vision reveals his murder—and a cry for help. Dae doesn’t know what to make of the dead man’s plea to “Help her,” until she has another vision about a kidnapped girl—Chuck’s daughter, Betsy. With a child missing, the FBI steps in to take over the case. But Dae can’t ignore her visions of Betsy, or the fact that Kevin’s psychic ex-fiancé might be the only person who can help find her.

space

To Purchase A Haunting Dream: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-haunting-dream-joyce-and-jim-lavene/1111363964

A final word (enticement!) from Joyce

Win a copy of A Haunting Dream, the fourth book in the Missing Pieces Mysteries, by leaving your name at my blog: http://romanceofmystery.blogspot.com 

______________________________________________________

AND – Don’t forget Buster, Dobie, and Mugs (the latest) are each drawing a name from comments for free copies of Lies of Convenience (or a M.M. Gornell title of your choosing)!

10 Responses to “Welcome: Joyce Lavene”

  1. Joyce, I can truly relate to everything you said. Excellent post!
    Marja McGraw

  2. Writing is the fun part. It’s the promotion part that makes it seem like work.

  3. Great post.! You’ve stated my sentiments about writing and fellow writers exactly, Joyce, although I enjoy the edits more than the rough drafts.

  4. Wise words, Joyce. Happy is the person who has found her work, her calling. Yours is obviously writing, and you’re obviously happy with it.

  5. Joyce, I loved your comment about having one of your character shine:) And a Haunting Dream feels like a much needed visit back South; I will check it out.

  6. Jake said

    Where on your blog do we leave name? How can it be a job when you are doing something you like? Probably dealing with publishing & publicity problems makes fun of writing a tad job like. Enjoying your postings. Thanks

  7. Joyce, I did enjoy your answers. I guess we all feel some of the same things about our “job.” So nice to learn even more about you.

  8. mmgornell said

    I’ve enjoyed getting to know you, too, Joyce! Hope you have a great day out here in the Mojave. Welcome.

    Madeline

  9. W.S. Gager said

    Joyce: I agree. Writing is the best job but sometimes that boss gets a little pushy. LOL
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  10. Thanks for hosting me, Madeline! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you!

Leave a Reply

