Welcome: Jean Lauzier

December 8, 2012

PostHeading

I’m meeting Jean on this Tour, and So Pleased to Have Her Visit…

Jean Lauzier

Jean Lauzier

Jean Lauzier has always been a writer though life just recently settled enough so she can spend the time needed at the keyboard with her characters.  Jean writes mystery and fantasy for the most part but enjoys playing with romance and western genres ever so often.  When not writing, Jean spends her time trying to keep her Bonsai alive, learning Spanish and training the cat.   She is president of the East Texas Writer’s Association.

 

What Jean Likes About Writing

Thanks so much for having me on your blog today.  And gee, you asked a hard question.

What do I like most about being a writer? Well, it varies from day to day.  Some days I love the writing part. Those are the days when the right words just seem to flow from the fingers to the page. The times I’m so involved in the writing when it’s like nothing else exists, just the story. No kids yelling, no television blaring in the background. Several times when this has happened I’ve had the kids come in and ask me a question and I’ll just agree. About 30 minutes later it dawns on me I agreed to something and have to go find out what it was. Thankfully my kids don’t ask for strange things.

Other days, I love the editing. Taking good words and making ‘em great. Working with a excellent editor makes editing fun. And when a story has been polished and shined, it’s a great feeling.

Six Pack of Murder

Six Pack of Murder

And I can’t leave out writer’s conferences.  I LOVE writer conferences! Getting to meet writers from all over the world, learning about craft, then getting to socialize with people who understand what it’s like to have all the voices in your head…wonderful way to spend time.

I guess the best thing though, is when a reader tells you how your words touched them. When a reader is entertained for a bit, when they forget all the problems in their daily lives, even if it’s just for the time it takes to read a short story, then I know I’ve done my job right.  And that’s a darn good feeling. Jean’s short story collection, Six Pack of Murder is available on Amazon.

Dark Descent

Dark Descent

And during the tour, Jean will be giving away at least three copies of Six Pack of Murder and three copies of the soon to be released Dark Descent. Be sure to leave a comment along with your email address to be entered in the drawing.

Blog – http://underthetrollsbridge.blogspot.com

Website – http://www.jeanlauzier.com

Twitter – @JeanLauzier

Facebook – jeanlauzier2319

Email – jeanlauzier@gmail.com

_________________________________

AND – Don’t forget Buster, Dobie, and Mugs (the latest) are each drawing a name from comments for free copies of Lies of Convenience (or a M.M. Gornell title of your choosing)!

12 Responses to “Welcome: Jean Lauzier”

  1. You said it all, Jean, and I couldn’t agree with you more. Excellent post!
    Marja McGraw

  2. I could not agree more, Jean, the writing, editing, blogging, connecting with other authors, and of course feedback from readers is what it’s all about. So glad you’re on the Mystery We Write Blog Tour!

  3. Even on the worst of days, writing is a joy! Marlys Millhiser once told me that her family went out to dinner so that she could finish her latest mystery. An hour later she took a break and cooked an entire meal while finishing the book in her head, forgetting where her family was.. We do get lost in our fictional worlds. 🙂

  4. Yes–this must be a hard question–but I love hearing what a writer has to say. Too funny about telling the kids “yes” to any query when you are deep into your craft. Love it!

  5. Jake said

    As a devoted reader appreciate your concerns. Thanks

  6. Looking forward to reading your book, Jean!

  7. I love this question. It’s fun to read how everyone else feels. Enjoyed your answer, Jean.

  8. Jean,
    I agree. It’s all about the readers. Knowing that I’m giving someone a chance to forget about their problems and escape to a world I created is a fantastic feeling.

  9. mmgornell said

    Good morning Jean, WELCOME! So glad you’re stopping by in the desert today…

  10. Thanks for having me today. I should have added blogging to that list. 🙂

  11. Great answer, Jean.

Leave a Reply

