Dangerous Impulses — What a Great Title!

March 7, 2013

Marilyn Meredith  (oops! I mean F.M. Meredith) has done it again!. Written another wonderful  Rocky Bluff  P.D. adventure. So glad you could stop by, Marilyn.

Marilyn Meredith

Marilyn Meredith

For those of you who haven’t met Marilyn, here’s a short bio–F.M. is also known as Marilyn Meredith, the author of the award winning Deputy Tempe Crabtree series. She first became interested in writing about law enforcement when she lived in a neighborhood filled with police officers and their families. The interest was fanned when her daughter married a police officer and the tradition has continued with a grandson and grandson-in-law who are deputies. She also serves on the board of the Public Safety Writers Association, and has many friends in different law enforcement fields. For twenty plus years, she and her husband lived in a small beach community located in Southern California much like the fictional Rocky Bluff. She is a member of three chapters of Sisters in Crime, Epic, and Mystery Writers of America.

Before I begin, I must say that Madeline and I are friends—friends who have actually met one another in person. We are the kind of friends who can start up right where we left off the last time. She gave me several questions and told me that I could choose which ones to answer, so here goes:

Where did you get the title, Dangerous Impulses?

Usually a title pops into my head while I’m writing the book. This time it didn’t happen. I’d been reading the manuscript chapter by chapter to my critique group and asked them for help in coming up with the title. I was given several suggestions, and the one I liked best, of course, was Dangerous Impulses.

The title fits. As we all know, it isn’t always a good idea to act upon impulse. That’s what happens in this story too often.

The second question I’ve chosen to answer is why write under two different names, and the good and bad of it.

When I first started writing the Rocky Bluff P.D. series, I knew that many female writers who wrote about and from a man’s point-of-view only used their initials with their last name in order to conceal the fact that they were women. I heard J.A. Jance speak about this at a Sister’s in Crime meeting and she said that many of her male readers had no idea she wasn’t a man. (That changed long ago when she became famous.)

I thought this might work for me, so I used F. M. Meredith for my author name on the first RBPD crime novel, Final Respects. I thought I was being so smart. I didn’t send a photo, but I did include my website in my query. When the book came out, to my shock and surprise, there was my photo on the back cover. So much for having anyone think F. M. Meredith was a man. The publisher went to my website and copied my author photo.

Not much I could do about that. By that time I’d already written and submitted the second book in the series, Bad Tidings written by F. M. Meredith

I also write the Deputy Tempe Crabtree series under the name Marilyn Meredith. Both names are mine and I’ve gotten pretty used to it. If I had it to do all over though, I’d probably have just used the name everyone knows me by.

On the pro side, the series are so different from one another, it’s probably a good idea that the RBPD series is authored by F. M. Meredith.

Thanks for hosting me today, Madeline. I always love visiting with you.

Dangerous Impulses  by Marilyn Meredith

Dangerous Impulses
by Marilyn Meredith

Dangerous Impulses

An attractive new-hire captivates Officer Gordon Butler, Officer Felix Zachary’s wife is befuddled by her new baby, Ryan and Barbara Strickland receive unsettling news, while the bloody murder of a mother and her son and an unidentified drug that sickens teenaged partiers jolts the Rocky Bluff P.D.  Click on Book Cover to buy!  

 Contest:

The person who comments on the most blog posts on this tour may have a character named after him or her in the next Rocky Bluff P.D. crime novel or choose a book from the previous titles in the series.

You can reach Marilyn at: Webpage-http://fictionforyou.com/ Blog – http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com/ And on Facebook and Twitter as Marilyn Meredith

The Rocky Bluff P.D. Series:

Though each book in the Rocky Bluff P.D. series is written as a stand-alone, I know there are people who like to read a series in order. From the beginning to the end:

Final Respects

Bad Tidings

Fringe Benefits

Smell of Death

No Sanctuary

An Axe to Grind

Angel Lost

No Bells

Dangerous Impulses

Tomorrow you can find Marilyn at: http://rabbi.author.com/

11 Responses to “Dangerous Impulses — What a Great Title!”

  1. Lots of people just call me Meredith–and I answer.

  2. Whether you use initials or your name, somehow Meredith sounds classy. Great name!

  3. Great title, great book cover. No matter what name you use, you are still a fantastic mystery author.

  4. Wendy, thanks for stopping by. I love the title. Patricia, you would have been PEG, that’s not bad at all. Thanks for the congrats, Colleen. And, Pat Hernandez, thank goodness I don’t have more than two author names!

  5. Since I use five pen names but plan to use only three in the future, I can understand your reasoning for two. At first I used a masculine sounding pen name for the same reason you did. I am now phasing out that name. I use different pen names because I write completely different genres: mystery, romance and time-travel.

  6. Congratulations on what looks to be another great read Marilyn!

  7. Marilyn,
    Like you, when I submitted the manuscript for my first mystery novel, I considered using my initials instead of my full first name. That would’ve been P.E. Gligor, instead of Patricia. The reason I didn’t? Well, sound out those two initials; it just didn’t sound right! In your case, it does.

  8. W.S. Gager said

    Good morning Marilyn and Madeline. Good to see you both figuratively. I love the title of the book. It creates such a good bit of suspense before you even open the cover.
    Wendy
    W.S. Gager on Writing

  9. Thank you, Madeline, for having me. It’s been too long since we got to really talk.

    And Earl, I appreciate the good luck, and good or bad, I’m stuck with two author names.

  10. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Marilyn. Welcome! Always love having you visit. Hope a lot of people stop by, because I think your two-name adventure is very interesting and informative. Again, welcome!

    Madeline

  11. I’ve wondered why you used two names, Marilyn. Now I know. Good luck with the new one. Love the title!

Leave a Reply

