Welcome Patricia Gligor!

April 4, 2014

I’m so happy to have Patricia Gligor (1) visiting today on her blog tour for her latest book. Patricia is not only one of my favorite writers, but also one of my favorite people! And if you don’t know already, a wonderful and gracious supporter of other authors.. Patricia has a new book out, Desperate Deeds. .

Congrats, Patricia!

 

The Easiest Part of Being a Writer

Patricia Gligor

Patricia Gligor

The easiest part of being a writer is writing a book.

Are you scratching your head, wondering what on earth I could possibly mean by that statement? Well, let me explain. There’s no doubt about it, writing a book is hard work. Writers spend months, even years, plotting, writing and editing a novel but, compared to the other aspects of being a writer, writing is a piece of cake. Finding a publisher, working with them to produce a finished book, promoting and selling your book is much more difficult and it can be extremely stressful.

When you’re writing, you live in a world you’ve created. And, even though your characters may give you pause once in awhile and you’ll have times when you stare at the blank screen on your monitor with a blank expression on your face, you are, at least in theory, in control. Everything proceeds at your pace. The book is finished when you type “The End,” whether literally or figuratively.

But that’s where your control stops. In spite of your best efforts, you have no control over whether or not a publisher will want to add your book to his/her list and you have little control over the rest of the process. Of course, you can always self-publish but that’s no easy task either because you have to handle the aspects of getting your book into print that, if you had a publisher, he or she would’ve taken care of.

So, let’s assume you’ve got a publisher, all the details have been worked out and you have a publication date. Now it’s time to promote! Your book will be published soon and you need to let potential readers know about it. There are so many books out there by so many other authors and you have the Herculean task of making yours stand out in the crowd. How do you do that? You tell everyone you know and strangers you meet, spend countless hours on social media sites and set up book signings. But there’s still no guarantee that your book will sell well. And, if your published book doesn’t produce decent sales, there are no guarantees that your publisher will accept the next one. As I said, “The easiest part of being a writer is writing a book.”

Desperate Deeds

Desperate Deeds

As Ann Kern starts her new business as an interior decorator, the temperatures have risen, tulips and daffodils are in bloom and there’s a feeling of endless possibilities in the air. She has no idea that her world is about to be turned upside down.

When Janis Riley, a woman for whom money is no object, contacts Ann to redecorate her house, Ann is elated. But her initial visit with her first client leaves her with mixed emotions. Why did Janis react so strangely to seeing a photo of Ann’s six-year-old son, Davey?

But Ann has bigger problems. Her husband, David, a recovering alcoholic, has lost both his mother and his job and Ann worries that he’ll start drinking again. To add to her concerns, their next-door-neighbor, Dorothy Baker, is severely depressed but Ann’s efforts to help her are rebuffed.

Ann is terrified when she wakes up the day before Easter to find Davey gone. Another child, Kelly Kramer, has been missing since December. Does some pervert have both children and what, if anything, can Ann do to get her son back?

Buy at:  http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=la_B007VDDUPQ_B007VDDUPQ_sr?rh=i%3Abooks&field-author=Patricia+Gligor&sort=relevance&ie=UTF8&qid=1396017920

_________________________________

(1) Patricia Gligor is a Cincinnati native. She enjoys reading mystery/suspense novels, touring and photographing old houses and traveling. Mixed Messages and Unfinished Business, the first two novels in her Malone Mystery series, were published by Post Mortem Press. Desperate Deeds is the third novel in the series.

Visit her website at: http://pat-writersforum.blogspot.com/

18 Responses to “Welcome Patricia Gligor!”

  1. Jenny,
    I hope we get to meet in person sometime too! BTW, I loved “Cover of Snow.” Wonderful book!

  2. The easiest and the most fun, for sure. After that comes…revising!!! But then you get to get out there with your book and it starts to be fun again. Hope we meet somewhere along the way, Patricia! Till then, happy writing 🙂

  3. Dear Photojaq (wish I knew your real name LOL),
    thanks for stopping by! I wish you the best of luck with your writing. You definitely have the right attitude: you write because you enjoy writing.

  4. photojaq said

    Well, I’ve only written a couple short children’s books, but I did have a ball doing it. Somehow, I can’t just get into gear for writing an adult novel, so I admire you for doing that!! Having worked for a couple small newspapers, I find it’s easier to promote (a non-fiction job) that write a book (a fiction job). Great post!

  5. Marja, another one of my favorite authors,
    I do remember the days when I had a “normal” job. LOL
    Although there’s nothing “normal” about the life of a writer, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  6. You’re absolutely right. When I naively started out, I had no idea what I was in for, and it still boggles my mind. Thank you so much for sharing and reminding us that we have plenty of company on this journey. Remember the days of a “normal” job and when a boss told you what to do you did it? And knew it was over? This is a neverending career.

  7. Paul,
    Nice to meet you too! I know exactly what you mean about your favorite book. I can hardly wait to get started on the fourth book in my series.

  8. Marilyn,
    I hope you enjoy reading “Desperate Deeds.” I love your books and Madeline’s. Two of my favorite authors!

  9. Hi, Patricia, nice to meet you. Loved your post and I agree. When people ask me if I have a favorite book among the ones I’ve written I always say, “The one I’m writing now.” Which in a way goes along with what you’ve said. The best part is definitely when you’re writing and in control. Everything afterwards is the difficult part. 🙂 Paul

  10. marilynlevinson said

    Pat,
    Everything you’ve written is so true. These days we writers must promote our books, and promoting takes lots of time and energy.
    I’m looking forward to reading your latest.

  11. JT,
    Thanks for stopping by. I have an aunt, uncle and several cousins who live in Wheatridge, Colorado. They were originally from Cincinnati too. Glad to meet another former Buckeye!

  12. jtzortman said

    Boy, this blog really hits home. I had no idea how much work comes along after you have a publisher and the book is on the market. I think one has to experience it to understand, but great blog! I lived in Cincinnati for 42 years – in Mariemont. Moved to Colorado and have never looked back.

  13. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Patricia! So glad you’re here–WELCOME!

  14. Bonnie,
    I don’t think any of us realized “what we were getting into.” LOL
    But, as you said, “it’s better than keeping that book in a dark, dusty drawer.” There might be a lot of stress, etc. involved on the road to publication but, for me, there’s no greater joy than holding one of my books in my hands.

  15. Patricia, You are ever so right about the process. I was really naive about what came after getting that book contract and am still adjusting to the idea of losing control. But it’s better than keeping that book in a dark, dusty drawer, right? Thanks for putting into words what I’ve been feeling. I haven’t read your books yet, but will add “Desperate Deeds” to my queue.

  16. Marilyn,
    I know the feeling. I have a long, long TBR list. So many wonderful mysteries to read! (BTW, you’re one of my favorite people too.)

  17. Two of my favorite people. I have the book, Patricia, but may take me a while to read it. When I do, I’ll review it. Have two others to finish first.

  18. Madeline,
    Thank you for inviting me to be your guest today.
    There’s a positive aspect to being a writer that I neglected to mention in my post. You’ll meet lots of other writers along the way, online and in person, and some will become good friends. I consider you to be one of those people and I feel privileged to have “met” you.

Leave a Reply

