It’s a Good Day — Marilyn Meredith is Visiting!

April 1, 2015

F.M. Meredith

F.M. Meredith

Wonderful author,  author supporter, and friend , Marilyn Meredith is kicking-off her latest blog tour here today!  And she’s talking about one of my favorite characters–a character  who almost feels  like I know  in person.

F.M. Meredith, also known as Marilyn Meredith, is the author of over thirty published novels. Marilyn is a member of three chapters of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and on the board of the Public Safety Writers of America. Besides having family members in law enforcement, she lived in a town much like Rocky Bluff with many police families as neighbors.

 

 

What’s Happening With Gordon Butler?

For the first stop on my blog tour for the latest in the Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery series, Violent Departures, I thought it would be fun to write about one of the ongoing characters, Officer Gordon Butler.

One reason I decided to do this is because Gordon has many fans—one of which is my friend and blog host, Madeline Gornell.

Officer Gordon Butler has a checkered past. Though he’s an over-the-top “by the book” officer, things don’t always go well for him. So much so, he’s been the brunt of many jokes.

His romantic life hasn’t been much better. However, in the last two books, Dangerous Impulses and Murder in the Worst Degree things began looking up when Officer Lizette Gibbs comes on the scene.

In this book, Gordon has matured, he’s learned to make good choices, and shows his ability to train a new hire.

So without giving too much away, let me just say that Gordon displays great courage and true love is within his grasp.

As an author, I’ve had a lot of fun putting Gordon through his paces. He’s been the comic relief in many of the earlier mysteries, but I regretfully have to recognize that he’s changed enough that I’ll need to look elsewhere to make my readers laugh.

F.M. aka Marilyn Meredith

Violent Departures

Violent Departures

Violent Departures: Here’s a “sneak preview”:

College student, Veronica Randall, disappears from her car in her own driveway, everyone in the Rocky Bluff P.D. is looking for her. Detective Milligan and family move into a house that may be haunted. Officer Butler is assigned to train a new hire and faces several major challenges.

(And there’s a contest)!

Because it has been popular on my other blog tours, once again I’m offering the chance for the person who comments on the most blog posts during this tour to have a character named for him or her in the next Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery.

Or if that doesn’t appeal, the person may choose one of the earlier books in the series—either a print book or Kindle copy.

 

Links:

Buy Book  http://tinyurl.com/jvmubw5

Webpage: http://fictionforyou.com/

Blog: http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://facebook.com/marilynmeredith

Tomorrow I’ll be here: http://christanardi.blogspot.com/ with an Introduction to the Rocky Bluff mystery series.

And if you want to read a another review about “me, my dogs, and Gordon Butler,” https://mmgornell.wordpress.com/?s=spare+bedroom

 

I first met Marilyn at an event much like this in Hanford, CAMarilyn at Lompoc Library

Marilyn at Lompoc Library

18 Responses to “It’s a Good Day — Marilyn Meredith is Visiting!”

  1. marilynm said

    Bonnie, I love doing blog tours–and writing this series is something I seem compelled to do.

  2. I am always in awe of writers who can pull off a series, and it sounds as if you have truly mastered the craft. I haven’t “met” Gordon yet, but this post made me want to. Have fun on your blog tour!

  3. marilynm said

    Thank you, Evelyn, for your comment. Too bad Gordon isn’t a real person.

  4. I don’t know how you do it, Marilyn. I just love the Rocky Bluff mysteries, and you can count me in as a Gordon Butler fan, too.

  5. marilynm said

    Hey, Marja, thanks for stopping by!
    And Lorna, I ought to start a Gordon Butler fan club.

  6. I love Gordon, too! Always happy when he is featured.

  7. Another Gordon fan here, not to mention a Marilyn fan. I can’t wait to read more. Great post!

  8. mmgornell said

    Yes, Paul, Marilyn IS a force of nature, isn’t she!

  9. marilynm said

    Elaine, your comment made me chuckle. I’m far from a genius–but ideas seem to pop into my head–then I build on them until I actually have a plot.

  10. elainefaber4u said

    Marilyn. Your new book sounds very intrigues. Where on earth do you come up with over 30 plots? You are indeed a genius!

  11. marilynm said

    Hi, Paul, yep your name is used for a most important character in this book.

    And Gay, I love writing about the men and women of the Rocky Bluff P.D. as well as those they love.

    Thank you, Jackie! Nothing as nice as hearing someone is buying your book.

  12. jtzortman said

    Okay, you got me with your first blog on this tour. I’m buying your book today. Timing is great – I just finished a good book and need a new one. I always enjoy your books as well as Madeline’s.

  13. I think I might be the new recruit in this one. Am I right, Marilyn? At least he has my name. Thanks so much for my fifteen minutes. Hi, Madeline and thanks for featuring our favorite mystery writer and force of nature.

  14. Gay Degani said

    Read with interest. So happy to find out about another series that works!

  15. marilynm said

    Hi, Patricia, thanks for stopping by. I love writing about Gordon, glad so many like him.

  16. Marilyn,
    I agree with Madeline; I love Gordon Butler. Not only has he provided some comic relief but he’s so “human.” He makes poor choices sometimes, just as we all do.
    I’ve read all of the books in your Rocky Bluff P.D. mystery series and I can’t wait to read this one!

  17. mmgornell said

    Marilyn, welcome! Glad you didn’t let the winds here stop you. And you know I love Gordon! We’re going to have a great day, I’m sure, windy or not!

  18. marilynm said

    I thought I did this–but I do want to thank Madeline for letting me hang out with her today.

Leave a Reply

