Finished Versus Done…

April 3, 2015

“The Joy of Story,” to steal a phrase from a wonderful author, publisher, and one-time blog-tour-mate, John M. Daniel http://johnmdaniel.blogspot.com/ – is a phrase I like, and really believe as a concept. A well written story to me is indeed a joy, and when I read those kind of stories, I’m in awe and appreciation. A story that is complex, symbolic yet real, characters (ones you like and hate) that are identifiable, while also being unique, settings that take you there, puzzles to solve (murder or otherwise)—are some of the elements that bring the “joy” to me as a reader. P.D. James said to “read well,” and I so agree! So I keep re-reading her books.

In my personal writing adventure—learning and trying to do all those things I admire—I easily bog myself down. Rewriting, refining, blah, blah, blah. But also being a practical and lazy person, at a certain point usually also say, “hell with it,” this book will never be as good as I want it to be, time to move on. With this novel, I forgot to move on for far too long. Finally, I did say, this is it, no more refinements, rewrites, edits, whatever, and I sent it off to my publisher (several more edits!). So here it is, unfinished (ha, ha never will be), but done. There is something to be said, and a joy to be felt, I think, not only from telling the story, but also from a story finally told.

Now Available!

Now Available!

Click on Book to Buy at Amazon

12 Responses to “Finished Versus Done…”

  1. mmgornell said

    Bonnie, thank you for stopping by, and I figured you’d understand. We don’t have Saturday or Sunday deliveries way out here–but I just can’t believe there are Sunday deliveries anywhere, except for wireless. The world is moving so much faster than I can keep up with!

    Hope to see you soon, though I have a jury duty show up for April 8th…sigh. Your encouragement is much appreciated.

  2. Mad, so true that we almost never realize our inner vision on the page, but eventually we have to stop trying and say “this is as good as it’s gonna get.” I’ve fought that same battle, and I agree with everything you wrote.

    PS I just ordered my copy of “Rhodes”–slacker that I am, I didn’t order early enough for Sunday delivery, but it will arrive Monday. I love Amazon Prime and look forward to collecting your autograph next time I see you. Congrats on saying “Done” and putting the book out!!

  3. mmgornell said

    Sorry for delay in response, three hour power out (our well still not back on, but who needs water, anyway!)

    Thank you Alice, Jackie H, Jackie Z, and Gayle for stopping by and your interest in Rhodes. THANK YOU, your comments and willingness to try my latest have turned a crappy afternoon into bliss.

    And Jackie H, I like Death in Holy Orders, but it’s long. The problem is, except for Adam Dalgeish (sp)), there’s always a new set of characters, and except for London, a new wonderful location (especially for an Anglophile (sp)) to take in, so I actually like them all.

    Thank you dear friends for your support! (now, if Cal Edison can get a technician out tonight…)

    Madeline

  4. I bought your latest, Rhodes, and should get it Sunday or Monday. I can’t believe they will deliver on Easter, but I am looking forward to it.

  5. jtzortman said

    Loved to read this and discover that others are doing the same thing I have to force myself to discontinue. Another author, Keith Bettinger, finally told me to stop editing my coming book or I’d edit myself into eternity. That has stuck in my mind and is good advice. I’m sure your book is perfect, just as all of your books have been. I’m buying it.

  6. photojaq said

    Oh, well, dummy that I am, I was clicking on the words (click here) and not on the image of the book. Duh. Anyway, ordered and expected on Sunday, no less!

  7. photojaq said

    I can feel your joy and relief at having the story finally TOLD. I can’t wait to order it. I couldn’t click on the link, but will go to Amazon now. (And by the way… what is your favorite PD James book, or which one would you suggest reading?)

  8. Alice Zogg said

    Madeline, your latest book caught my interest. I’ll buy the paper edition as soon as I’m back in town. (Don’t want to have it delivered when away.)

  9. mmgornell said

    Marilyn, so encouraged by your words, and you should know! Your putting out two books a year says you know a lot about this subject. Thanks for dropping by, I know you’re on blog tour…

    No, Patricia, you are not alone, and I kind of figured you’d understand. And thank you for your kind words.

    So good to hear from you, Julie! I still remember the excitement with your first book, and the interview we did when The Left Side of the Stairs was published! Is there another book in the works? Thanks for taking the time to comment–much appreciated.

    Madeline

  10. Julie Egert said

    Madeline, yep, what you said about finishing. Congrats again and I look forward to reading.

  11. Madeline,
    You managed to put into words exactly how I feel about my writing. I’m glad to know I’m not alone. LOL
    And, congratulations on the publication of Rhodes. I love your books and I look forward to reading this one.

  12. marilynm said

    Good post–I don’t think an author ever really thinks a book is as good as it could be, but we have to stop rewriting sometime or it’ll never get published.

Leave a Reply

