Welcome to Patricia Gligor!

July 1, 2015

 

I know it’s a strange thing to say in that I’ve never met, Patricia in person–but it’s true–she  is one of my favorite people! So it’s with great pleasure I welcome Patricia to share some thoughts about her characters , and  introduce her latest book. An added bonus to  Patricia being such a lovely person is that I’ve read her books,–and she’s  a talented writer who tells darned good stories!  So, here’s Patricia, not only giving us a peek at her new book, but talking about how her characters became “real.”

 

Patricia Gligor

Patricia Gligor

 

 

Patricia Gligor is a Cincinnati native. She enjoys reading mystery/suspense novels, touring and photographing old houses and traveling. She has worked as an administrative assistant, the sole proprietor of a resume writing service and the manager of a sporting goods department but her passion has always been writing fiction. Ms. Gligor writes the Malone Mystery series. The first three books, Mixed Messages, Unfinished Business, and Desperate Deeds take place in Cincinnati but in Mistaken Identity, the fourth book, her characters are vacationing on Fripp Island in South Carolina.

 

 

Family Drama Meets Mystery

Writers are constantly asked: “Are your novels character driven or plot driven?” A simple question for me because there’s no doubt about it. My Malone Mystery series is definitely character driven. Here’s how I think of it:

The Malone Mystery Series isn’t just about the mystery. It’s the story of Ann Malone Kern and her family and the struggles they face. As the series progresses, you will see Ann and the other characters change and grow as they deal with a multitude of problems and are involved in several dangerous, sometimes life-threatening, situations. But through it all, the underlining message in each book is one of Hope.

What’s interesting to me is that it didn’t start out that way. When I wrote the first book, Mixed Messages, it was my intention to write a standalone novel. That quickly changed as I began writing and found myself engrossed in the lives of Ann, David, their children and the other characters who play important roles in the series. I care about each of them and I need to know what will happen to them next. With each new book, I make sure to provide enough background information so that a first time reader won’t feel as if he/she has been dropped into the middle of the story. In other words, each book may be read as a standalone. (Although, I hope you’ll read them all.)

The first three books, Mixed Messages, Unfinished Business and Desperate Deeds, take place in Cincinnati, Ohio, my hometown, but in Mistaken Identity, Ann and her two young children travel to . . . well, I’ll let the blurb from the back of the book tell you about it. Happy Reading!

Mistaken Identity by Patricia Gligor

Mistaken Identity by Patricia Gligor

Ann feels like she’s in Paradise as she digs her toes into the soft, white sand and gazes out at the ocean. She’s looked forward to this trip to South Carolina for a long time and all she wants to do is bask in the sun, resting and relaxing.

She and her two young children are enjoying their time on Fripp Island with Ann’s sister, Marnie, and Marnie’s elderly friend and former neighbor, Clara Brunner, a long time resident with a vast knowledge of the island and the people who live there. At the fourth of July fireworks, Clara introduces them to newlyweds Jenny and Mark Hall and their families.

But Ann’s plans for a peaceful vacation are shattered the next morning. When she goes for a solitary walk on the beach, she discovers the body of a young woman with the chain of a gold locket twisted around her neck and she immediately recognizes the locket as the one Jenny Hall was wearing the night before.

Shocked and saddened, Ann is determined to try to find the killer and to see them brought to justice. She convinces Marnie and Clara to join her in conducting an investigation but, in the process, she places her own life in jeopardy.

Patricia’s books are available at:

http://tinyurl.com/ntujm7s (Buy at Amazon)

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B007VDDUPQ (author page)

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/patricia-gligor?keyword=patricia+gligor&store=book

http://postmortem-press.com

 

And you can visit Patricia at her website:

http://pat-writersforum.blogspot.com/

 

Thanks for stopping by, Patricia!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 Responses to “Welcome to Patricia Gligor!”

  1. Jacqueline,
    As a writer and as a reader, the characters have to be believable to me and I have to know them well enough to care what happens to them.

  2. Hi, Pat,

    I completely agree with you about mystery series characters. Like you, I believe they should grow and change just as real people do. I’ve been dedicated to doing that in my Kim Reynolds mystery series just as you have done. I look forward to reading your new novel!

  3. Allan, I couldn’t agree more. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I appreciate your kind words, Marja. I know how busy you’ve been lately and I’m happy you’re taking the time to read Mistaken Identity.

  5. A very special woman and a very special writer, Pat has entertained me with each of her books and all of her characters. At the moment my reading time is down to almost none, but I’m reading her latest book as I can and enjoying it immensely. Great post!

  6. Patricia, my favorite mysteries are those in which I get to know the characters and they have a life beyond advancing the plot. Glad to hear that’s your approach in your “Malone” mysteries. Best of sales!

  7. Thanks, Earl! I wish you the same!

  8. Hi, Pat. Mistaken Identity sounds like a book I’d enjoy. Like you, I believe a story should be about people as much as plot. Best wishes for good health and good writing.

  9. Wow, Madeline, you’ve had quite a morning! It’s absolutely gorgeous in Cincinnati today. We’ve had our share of thunderstorms lately but not today. Whew!

  10. mmgornell said

    Wow, Patricia, what weather, lightening, thunder, even rain! Glad you could make it nonetheless (smile) Dogs are all under my feet as I’m writing this–scared of thunder! We’ll have a great and exciting day! Glad you could stop by. As you know, have Mistaken Identity and can’t wait to start!

  11. Marilyn,
    Your words and Madeline’s warm my heart! One of my favorite things about being an author is the wonderful people I’ve “met.”

  12. marilynm said

    I feel the same way about Particia. She is one of my Internet friends too that has become a real friend. Love her books also.

  13. Madeline, I don’t know what to say except thank you for the wonderful introduction and for inviting me to be here today. I hope that one day soon I’ll have the pleasure of meeting you in person.

Leave a Reply

