Marilyn Meredith is Here! (And with a New Tempe Adventure)

September 15, 2015

Marilyn Meredith

Marilyn Meredith

 

I just love it when Marilyn¹ starts here blog tours with me! In the past I’ve gone on and on about what an inspiration this hard-working and talented lady is (for me and all writers)–and when needed, a helping hand. But yes, I’m saying it again–you couldn’t ask for a better guiding light!

Here’s Marilyn…

So Where Do Real People Fit in Your Mysteries?

Madeline asked me this question, and it’s a good one. Over the years, there have been various essences of real people in my Deputy Tempe Crabtree mysteries.

Tempe is a combination of a Yokut woman that I met, a resident deputy and a police woman I went on a ride-along with one night years ago. All three were strong women and share personality traits with Tempe.

A teacher who taught grandchildren of her first students and didn’t quit teaching until she was in her late seventies became a principal in one of the earlier books. The character didn’t look like the teacher, but I definitely thought of the real person as I wrote her into the story.

Because I live in a small town much like Bear Creek with people who’ve lived here all their lives and those who have moved here to get away from the big cities, I’ve gleaned a lot from both experiences. Like any place, we have people who have a lot and those who don’t—all I’ve had to do is pay attention to what’s going on around me to come up with interesting characters with stories to tell.

I actually used a real person as a character, not her name, but at her request, her description, her pets, and her personality quirks. She’s actually appeared in two books, and I might use her in another one day. She loved it, and all of her friends said I truly captured her.

Not As it Seems

Not As it Seems

In my latest, Not as It Seems, most of the characters have appeared in my imagination just as I depicted them. None are based on anyone that I know, except for the fact that each one has bits and pieces of folks I’ve met along the way of a long life.

Not as It Seems

Tempe and Hutch travel to Morro Bay for son Blair’s wedding, but when the maid-of-honor disappears, Tempe tries to find her. The search is complicated by ghosts and Native spirits.

 

 

 

 

Character Naming Contest:

Once again, I’ll name a character after the person who leaves a comment on the most blogs.

Tomorrow I’ll be stopping by Evelyn Cullet’s  http://Evelyncullet.com/ and telling where the idea for Not as It Seems  came from.


 ¹Bio: Marilyn Meredith now lives in the foothills of the Southern Sierra, about 1000 feet lower than Tempe’s Bear Creek, but much resembles the fictional town and surroundings. She has nearly 40 books published, mostly mysteries. Besides writing, she loves to give presentations to writers’ groups. She’s on the board of the Public Safety Writers Association, and a member of Mystery Writers of America and three chapters of Sisters in Crime, including the Central Coast chapter.

Thank you, Marilyn, for another enjoyable Tempe adventure!

20 Responses to “Marilyn Meredith is Here! (And with a New Tempe Adventure)”

  1. Stephen Tremp said

    Marilyn, best wishes to you and Not as it seems. It’d be cool to be a character in your book. My real name was Trempe until my ancestors came to America and dropped the ‘e.’ Trempe from Tempe. I like it.

    Stephen Tremp
    http://www.stephentremp.com

  2. marilynm said

    Thanks for stopping by, Amy, Monti and Elaine. It’s always nice to have comments from friends.

  3. elainefaber4u said

    As usual, an interesting story to tell and information about your writing journey. Thanks for sharing this bit of wisdom.

  4. monti7 said

    Always interesting to learn more about your creative process, Marilyn!

  5. That’s the first question I always get asked: are these characters people you really know?

    Yes… and no!

    Great post!

  6. marilynm said

    Gloria, yep, you never know when you might turn up in someone’s book–though usually the person doesn’t recognize themselves.

  7. marilynm said

    Jackie, so nice of you to stop by. You’re a character in my next RBPD mystery and I think you’ll like her.

  8. Gloria Casale said

    None of my characters are people I know, or knew – but all are a compilation of people from my life. Maybe even you….

  9. marilynm said

    Rusty, thanks for commenting. Marja, I guess you’ve realized by now I love doing blog tours.

  10. Another excellent post, Marilyn. I like that you use bits and pieces of people because that makes them even more believable. Thanks for sharing, and your new book sounds like another one I’ll enjoy.

  11. rustyl01 said

    Hi Madeline,

    Could you change my email address to RustyLaGrange23@gmail.com please?

    Enjoy your short interviews with authors.

    Rusty

  12. jtzortman said

    As always, a very interesting and informative post.

  13. marilynm said

    And Patricia, thank you for stopping by. Will see you soon!

  14. marilynm said

    Holly, you have a great name. Morro Bay is a beautiful and mystical place on its own. Tempe is often visited by spirits, the problem is trying to figure out what they are trying to tell her. Isn’t easy.

  15. I love the title of your new book, Marilyn. Like you, I tend to use “bits and pieces” of people I’ve known when I create the characters for my Malone mystery series.

  16. Speaking as a writer and as one of the characters in numerous short stories by Marian Allen, it takes a lot of trust in an author to try to win this one. 🙂 But it sounds like you use your real-life inspirations with care and respect, as Marian does. I would not mind showing up in one of your books!

    Morrow Bay looks like an intriguing setting. I wonder if Tempe is annoyed or intrigued by interference from “ghosts and Native spirits”? I can’t help but wonder at their motivation…

  17. marilynm said

    Nancy, thank you for the comment. Bonnie, it was fun having my friend in the book, she has plenty of quirks and it was fun including them.

  18. Marilyn, your book sounds really interesting–love the cover design too. I, too, use “bits and pieces” of people I’ve known to create my characters, but I’ve never had anyone ask me to include her in my story, real details and all. Sounds like it worked out well for both of you!

  19. I enjoyed the last Tempe story and look forward to following her further.

  20. marilynm said

    Thank you so much for having me on your blog today!
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

