An Invitation

January 31, 2016

A call for Authors to share their insights and news here on my blog…

As it turns out a lot of you, dear friends, are still visiting my blog. I am chagrined and apologetic I have been so neglectful, and am ready to get back to blogging.

I must say, fellow authors and friends Marja McGraw http://www.marjamcgraw.blogspot.com/ and Patricia Gligor http://pat-writersforum.blogspot.com/ have written several blogs recently that have given me the inspiration to get going again. And being part of the wonderful group, Writers in Residence http://writersinresidence.blogspot.com/ has most fortunately kept me involved in writing even though I’ve recently felt like sticking my literary-head in the sand—can’t be around such encouraging authors without some of it rubbing off!

And of course, I have to keep plodding along if I don’t want to be buried in Marilyn Meredith’s writing and promotional activity-plume! http://marilynmeredith.blogspot.com/ (smile) Thank you, Marilyn for sharing your energy. On top of that, when I read about what all my PSWA(Public Safety Writers Association) and HDCWC(High Desert California Writers Club) friends are doing (listserve and FB), my slacker status rises even higher!

But the final nudge/push/shove that has actually gotten me back to typing is a recent connection I made with a reader who talked about enjoying reading one of my books—and even, more, shared his thoughts about the characters, settings—and most importantly, how they were affecting him! (thank you dear Inyokern reader—your words have meant more than you would have guessed)

So, my bottom line: Reading is good, writing is good, and spreading literary information into the blogosphere is also good!

If I haven’t emailed you directly, or you haven’t seen my various posts, please email me with an idea of what you’d like to talk about, and when you want to spread your word. And if you’re a new writer, or have a new book, for sure, drop me a line. Would love to spotlight YOU like Patricia Gligor does so well! Also open to posting links to blogs you’ve already written and want wider exposure.

And, Rusty LaGrange http://aflairforwords.com/, thank you for commenting on my previous post with ideas and encouragement, and Marilyn Meredith, I’m looking forward to our visit on April 22nd!

 

8 Responses to “An Invitation”

  1. mmgornell said

    Marja, I know you can relate! Hope your enjoying your new digs–beautiful area! And once again, you’ve inspired me. My files are open and up in Word and I’m next going to write…!

  2. mmgornell said

    Oh Patricia, so glad you stopped by! I’m going to email you regarding you visiting. Your sharing and support means a LOT to me.

  3. mmgornell said

    Hi Paul, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! Much appreciated. You’re right on the doldrums/burnt out part–but soooo lucky to know so many supportive author friends like you, who when you’re drooping, revitalize with a shot of energy!

  4. mmgornell said

    Hi Rusty, thanks for stopping by. I sure wish I could spout-off some silver bullet(s) when it comes to promotions! I’m still, after all these years still struggling in that area. And recently, doing pretty much nothing. So hoping re-vitalizing my blog will get me (and promotional efforts) going. I’ll let you know if some great idea presents itself!

  5. I can truly relate to what you’ve been feeling and going through, Mad, and I’m glad you’re back. Thank you so much for mentioning me and my blog. Personally, I can’t wait for your next book!

  6. Madeline, I can’t thank you enough for mentioning my blog. I would love to do a post for your blog whenever you want me to. 🙂

  7. pauldmarks said

    I think we all get burned out sometimes for one reason or another. So I’m glad to hear you’re back to typing again, Madeline!
    –Paul

  8. rustyl01 said

    Madeline,

    So glad I could give you a friendly nudge.

    Marketing is a big buzz word for many of our authors in CWC. Can you share the methods and venues that work for you, now that you have more than one title to get out into the world?

    Rusty LaGrange

    Editor-in-Chief of The Bulletin,

    California Writers Club

    now in its 106th year

    submission: RustyLaGrange23@gmail.com

    760.646.2661

Leave a Reply

