Patricia Gligor – Visiting the Scene of the Crime

February 14, 2016


I am so happy and honored that Patricia Gligor is the first to help me get my 2016 author spotlight blogs get going!

PEG resized

Patricia Gligor

Madeline, thank you for inviting me to be your guest.

I think writing is magical!

When I sit down to write, I immerse myself in another world. My “real” life disappears as I get into the minds and lives of my characters. What will happen to them? And, where will it happen?

You see, setting is very important to me, second only to character and plot. I wouldn’t dream of writing a book where the story takes place in a location that’s unfamiliar to me. While research is important (and necessary), it can be accomplished in a number of ways. But, in addition to research, I need to have a “feel” for a location in order to write about it. For me, that means visiting the “scene of the crime.”

One of the first things writers learn is to write about what we know. That’s one of the reasons I chose the west side of Cincinnati for the location of my first three books, Mixed Messages, Unfinished Business and Desperate Deeds. I grew up (and still live) not far from where my main character and her family live – in an old Victorian on a tree-lined street in what feels like a safe, peaceful neighborhood. It isn’t.
Clipboard02
In my fourth book, Mistaken Identity, I decided to give my characters a change of scenery. The book takes place on Fripp Island and in Beaufort, South Carolina, places I’d recently visited while on vacation. I love the ocean and I enjoy walking the beach. The hot sun on my face, the cool breezes and the sand between my toes. Fortunately for me, I’ve never found a body there, but my main character did.
Clipboard04I’m currently working on the fifth book in the series and it will also be set in South Carolina. It had been awhile since I’d been to Mt. Pleasant and Charleston so, last summer, a friend and I took a trip south. We stayed in Mt. Pleasant and drove across the bridge to Charleston and I was able to once again get a “feel” for the area. And, as I always do, to take a lot of pictures for the bulletin board above my desk, which helps me to feel, when I’m back at home and writing, as if I’m still there.
Clipboard08
I hope you’ll visit me at my blog: http://pat-writersforum.blogspot.com/
And here’s the link to my Amazon author page: http://tinyurl.com/8sd2cz4.
Happy Reading!

I’ve read Patricia’s novels, and she definitely knows how to take you there! And for me, that’s one the most important aspects of a “story well told.” Looking forward to “visiting” South Carolina through Patricia’s eyes and words.


13 Responses to “Patricia Gligor – Visiting the Scene of the Crime”

  1. mmgornell said

    Thank you, Patricia, for a wonderful visit! Come back anytime!

  2. It’s nice to meet another writer, Paul. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Very good post, Patricia. I agree about writing what you know. I think it often gets a bad rap. Most of my early work–flash fiction and short stories–were set on the Nipomo Mesa where I live now and they really came alive for me in the writing. Setting is also a character in the great books so you’re on the right track there for sure. Where would Rebecca be without Mannerly, or GWTW without Tara and this list goes on. Disappear when I write as well. Unfortunately my husband, Bob, often feels like a widower, least in the writing sense. 🙂 Happy Vals your way. Paul

  4. Marja,
    I’ve had many local readers tell me they loved picturing the location as they read, trying to figure out exactly where my main characters live. Fun!

  5. Excellent post, Pat! My current WIP will take place in a fictitious town in Washington. Believe it or not, listening to the frogs at night inspired the location. I’ve learned that a real location can inspire a fictitious one, but I agree that a real location is better. People can read your book and relate to it.

  6. Thanks, Evelyn! That’s quite a compliment coming from a writer of your caliber. 🙂

  7. You certainly do a great job of writing what you know. There’s always a great “sense of place” in your novels. Looking forward to reading your next.

  8. Thank you, Elaine!
    Another writer who uses setting to create suspense is my host, Madeline Gornell. When I read her books, I’m transported to a place I’ve never been to but would very much like to visit.

  9. elainefaber4u said

    An interesting ‘location’ or ‘setting’ is often the thing that attracts a reader to your book, either a place or time they have been or wished to be. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and best luck with your book.

  10. John,
    So true! As an example, Marilyn Meredith does an incredible job of that. She once wrote that setting is like another character in her books.

  11. Pat, I agree that setting is vital. It’s important to get an atmosphere right, and then (for us mystery writers) to make the same atmosphere go wrong.

  12. Happy Valentine’s Day to you too, Madeline! Thanks so much for inviting me to be your guest.

  13. mmgornell said

    Good morning, Patricia. Happy Valentine’s Day, and welcome!

Leave a Reply

