A Metaphorical Slide Show

February 21, 2016

Our monthly book club meeting was this last Thursday. And as always, enjoyed immensely—even though as it sometimes happens, talking about the book is only one aspect of our lunches (there’s always the food and catching up!) Our group is quite diverse when it comes to reading interests and genre preferences, though several members are very eclectic in their selections. And that’s why I love book clubs —I read books I never would have thought of reading. Indeed, many of my favorites on the list below were not of my choosing. Also this week, Harper Lee left us, and I reaffirmed how wonderful being in a book club is. One of our members selected rereading To Kill a Mocking Bird, and so glad she did. In retrospect, and fanciful I know, in our own way, we paid our respects.

Following, is a tour down almost ten years of book club reading. It’s sort of like wanting to share a carousel-of-slides (you have to have been there to know what a slide projector-carousel is–and it’s not what’s in this lovely picture) of your last ten years of family vacations. Boring possibly like those slides often were—or maybe some of these books  will end up on your reading itinerary? (as an aside, we couldn’t read any of my books, I’m too thin skinned!)

carouseljpGettyOpencontent

Courtesy Getty Open Content Library

 From November, 2005- thru February, 2016Memories

The DaVinci Code Dan Brown
Relic Douglas Lincoln & Preston Child
Blink Malcolm Gladwell
Predator Patricia Cornwell
The Camel Club David Baldacci
The Reading Group Elizabeth Noble
Are You Afraid of the Dark Sidney Sheldon
Runaway Alice Munro
The Origin & Portrait of Jenny Irving Stone & Robert Nathan
Mystic River Dennis Lehane
The Collected Stories & Horse Heaven Eudora Welty &Jane Smiley
Father Joe: The Man Who Saved My Soul Tony Hendra
The Broker John Grisham
MOO Jane Smiley
From Hell to Havana Hoyt Barber
My Life in France Julia Childs & Alex Prud’Homme
Marley & Me John Grogen
Everyman Phillip Roth
Charlotte’s Web E. B. White & Garth Williams
Ava Gardner – Love is Nothing Lee Server
A Cook’s Tour Anthony Bourdain
The Measure of a Man Sidney Poitier
Cold Mountain Charles Frazier
Shadow in the Wind Carlos Ruiz Zafon
A Thousand Splendid Suns Khaled Hosseini
The Boleyn Inheritance Philippa Gregory
Love in the Time of Cholera Garcia Marquez
My Grandfather’s Son Clarence Thomas
Fieldwork Mischa Berlinski
Eat, Pray, Love Elizabeth Gilbert
Twenty Wishes Debbs McComber
Home Julie Andrews
Justice Denied J.A. Janice
The Historian Elizabeth Kostova
Three Sisters James D. Doss
The Last Lecture Randy Pausch.
Falling Man Don DeLillo
The Reader Bernhard Schlink
American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House Jon Meacham
The Weight of Water Anita Shreve
The Woman in White Wilkie Collins
A Personal Odyssey – Thomas Sowell Thomas Sowell
Rabble in Arms Kenneth Roberts
My Sister’s Keeper Jodi Picoult
The Magic of Recluce L. E. Modesitt Jr.
Poe-A life Cut Short Peter Ackroyd
Kim Rudyard Kipling
Murder in the Rue Morgue Edgar Allen Poe
The Bodies Left Behind Jeffery Deavers
Three Cups of Tea Greg Mortenson
Jumper Steven Gould
Condominium John D. McDonald
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan Lisa See
Good Faith Jane Smiley
The Angels Game Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Dragon Seed Pearl S. Buck
To Kill a Mocking Bird Harper Lee
The Sea Wolf Jack London
Busman’s Honeymoon Dorothy L. Sayers
The Women T.C. Boyle
Wish You Well David Baldacci
Freedom: A Novel Jonathan Franzen
Eternal on the Water Joseph Monninger
Men to Match My Mountains Irving Stone
1st to Die James Patterson
Odd Thomas Dean Koontz
I shall Not Want Julia Spencer-Fleming
Two Years Before the Mast Richard Henry Dana
Minutes of the Last Meeting Gene Fowler
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks Rebecca Skloot
The Paris Wife Paula McLain
The Help Kathryn Stockett
Emily and Einstein Linda Francis Lee
The Collected Stories of Isaac Bashevis Singer Isaac Bashevis Singer
Killing Lincoln Bill O’Reilly
Howard Hughes: His Life and Madness Donald L. Barlett and James B. Steele
The Tragedy of Arthur Arthur Phillips
The Marriage Plot Jeffrey Eugenides
The Source James A. Michener
An Open Book John Huston
The Twelfth Imam Joel C. Rosenberg
The New Republic Lionel Shriver
Charlotte and Emily Jude Morgan
The Casual Vacancy J. K. Rawling
The Life of Ian Fleming John Pearson
The Unbroken Laura Hillenbrand
The Hiding Place Corrie Ten Boom
Miss Julia Speaks Her Mind Ann B. Ross
The Golden Age Donna Leon
Adept Deborah Turner Harris & Katherine Kurtz
Avenger Frederick Forsyth
Bess & Harry Jhan Robbins
Joseph Anton: A Memoir Salmon Rushdie
Nights in Rodanthe Nicholas Sparks
George Washington’s Secret Six: The Spy Ring That Saved the American Revolution Brian Kilmeade
Ella Minnow Pea: A Progressively Lipogrammatic Epistolary Fable Mark Dunn
The Beautiful Mystery Louise Penny
Sarah’s Key Tatiana de Rosnay
Dead Heat Joel Rosenberg
Heaven is For Real Todd Burpo
The Little Locksmith: A Memoir Katharine Butler Hathaway
Travels Michael Crichton
The Friday Night Knitting Club Kate Jacobs
The Cat Who Went Underground or The Cat Who…..(whateve title you want) Lilian Jackson Braun
The Book Thief Markus Zusak
Personal Lee Child
Doris Day Her Own Story A. E. Hotchner
Death in Holy Order P.D. James
The Wind From Hastings Morgan Llywelyn
The Moonstone Wilkie Collins
Wild Goose, Brother Goose Mel Ellis
Prophet Frank E. Peretti
Any book in The Mrs. Pollifax Series Dorothy Gilman
The Child Garden Catriona McPherson
Impatient with Desire Gabrielle Burton
Bring Me a Unicorn Anne Morrow
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil: A Savannah Story John Berendt
They Call Me Crazy Kelly Stone Gamble
8 Responses to “A Metaphorical Slide Show”

  1. mmgornell said

    Thanks for stopping by, Marja! Ties into your recent blog about Harper Lee http://marjamcgraw.blogspot.com/ a little–about how important all these wonderful books we’ve had in our lives are.

  2. Wonderful list of books, and I’ve read several of them. Now I have more to look forward to. Thanks so much for sharing.

  3. mmgornell said

    Hi, Jake! Thanks for visiting, and glad a couple books caught your eye. I looked back through the list just now, and there are so many books that weren’t of my choosing that I just loved.

  4. mmgornell said

    Thanks for stopping by, Patricia. Fortunately, it’s only one book a month! And a couple, sorry to say, I didn’t read all the way through. My latest book(s) are not flowing like I’d like, but thinking Spring will change that!

  5. Jake said

    Great list. Found several to add on my TBR list. Also waiting for your next book.

  6. That’s quite an impressive reading list, Madeline. I hope you’re leaving plenty of time to write because I’m looking forward to your next book.

  7. mmgornell said

    Thanks for stopping by, Bonnie! I sure admire your courage with having your own book on the list! And of course they would like Mending Dreams, I certainly did,

    Yes, there are so many books on the list I would have never thought of. I think the camaraderie among readers is also a key element that keeps me loving book club…

  8. Terrific post, Mad. Your book club sure read/reads a lot of interesting books! I did see a few to add to my list. I belong to a book club, too; initially I joined because I was curious what readers liked and didn’t like about a book, to help in my own writing and marketing. I stayed because, like you, I read books I would never have picked on my own–e.g., The Help. Black maids in 1960’s Mississippi? Figured it would be too depressing. Of course it was anything but! They even read my novel, and although I dreaded the discussion, it was not at all painful. Either they were being kind or they liked it. . . maybe both?

Leave a Reply

