Author Spotlight: Nancy Boyarsky

February 9, 2017

I’m so happy to feature Nancy Boyarsky in my new  Author Spotlight.

Here’s Nancy….

Nancy Boyarsky

Nancy Boyarsky

Nancy Boyarsky was born in Oakland, California. After graduating from U.C. Berkeley, her first job was as an assistant editor in a tiny, long-gone publishing company in San Francisco. She has worked as a writer and editor all of her life.

She is married to former Los Angeles Times City Editor Bill Boyarsky and lives in Los Angeles. She still devotes herself to writing, editing, and reading and has added painting to her list of hobbies. She loves the theater, films and travel, especially to the UK.

In Nancy’s own words, how The Swap became a book…

Inspiration for The Swap

The Swap is the story of a house-swap gone bad between a couple from L.A. and a couple in London. The plot is based on a house swap my husband and I did a number of years ago. I had a lot of anxiety before that trip, worrying that the Londoners would rip us off and (alternately) that my house wasn’t tidy enough. I went crazy cleaning and neatening up to the point that my husband said he’d never do another house swap.

The actual swap itself went very well. The house in London had just about the same features and comforts as our own. Also the same messy closets and grotty corners. As in the book, the London couple had a boarder who was rarely there because her work called for a lot of traveling. And there was something a little spooky about the house. The painting in the dining room was pretty much like the one described in the book. It set a mood, making me feel something was a little off.

After we got home, I kept speculating about what would happen if the Londoners had never reached L.A., had never been heard from again.

The trip up the west coast of Scotland was based on another trip to the U.K. when we drove all the way from Glasgow to the Isle of Skye. The house where my heroine was held prisoner was a beautiful hotel where we stayed along the route. It’s called the Isle of Eriska.

The rest, the story line, I made up as I went along. The sense of place was important to the story. In a way, settings seemed to dictate what the action would be and what was going to happen next.

I had a lot of fun writing The Swap, and I hope readers are entertained by Nicole’s adventures as the innocent abroad.

 

theswap-frontcoverver3-copy

Buy link:

https://www.amazon.com/Swap-Nicole-Graves-Mystery-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B01L2XI3IY/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1481927472&sr=1-1&keywords=Nancy+Boyarsky

Book launch:

Vroman’s Bookstore, Pasadena, California, February 16, 2017, 7:00 p.m.

The SWAP Trailer 

 

Thanks for visiting, Nancy, and I’m certainly looking forward to reading  The Swap.  Much Success!

9 Responses to “Author Spotlight: Nancy Boyarsky”

  1. […] Nancy Boyarsky(1) has a new book! When Nancy last visited she told us about her inspiration for  The Swamp […]

  2. nboyarsky said

    I double that. Thanks so much for your interest in my book and taking the time to leave your comments. FYI: the second Nicole mystery, The Bequest, will be out August 15th. Should be on NetGalley, so watch for it.
    Nancy

  3. mmgornell said

    Evelyn, Marja, Paul, Jackie, and Bonnie–Thank you sooooooo much for stopping by today. The Swap does sound interesting, doesn’t it? I’ve pre-ordered my ebook. I also appreciate very much your taking the time and making the effort to leave a comment. Means a lot!

  4. bkschroeder said

    Your books sounds fascinating; I just bought a copy based on your description! I love the initial “what if?” idea that started it. Hope you have a very successful launch; Vroman’s is a wonderful venue.

  5. jtzortman said

    The Swap sounds like it’s right up my alley and I will buy and read it. Nice cover, too. Very interesting to read the backstory.

  6. Sounds like a very original and interesting story, Nancy. I’ll certainly check it out. Best wishes for success! The cover is lovely. 🙂 Paul

  7. I enjoy hearing the background regarding stories. Just ordered the book and I’m looking forward to some good reading.

  8. I loved the book, too. Very well-written romantic suspense.

  9. Nancy,
    I wish you much success with “The Swap.” I loved the book!
    And, Madeline, I know you will too!

Leave a Reply

